Month: May 2012

  • they can’t all be laugh riots

    I really hoped I’d have time/inspiration to write something mildly clever this evening.  It was not to be.  Spouseman was kind enough to name this one for me.  Feel free to skip to tomorrow’s more exciting yet to be created installment.

    I watched the two hour season finale of the only show I’ve watched on real tv this whole year.  I’m excited to watch the whole season again on hulu, because I’ve promised my loud people that they can watch it when school is over.  Touch.  It’s all about connections and numbers, both of which I dig, and it makes me cry, which is my second favorite emotional outburst.  This last episode was great- tying all the other episodes together in a great little package. 

    Connections make my little head spin and my day has been filled with them.  I started the day somehow talking about mint juleps.  I had a college facebook friend share the link for what one is, since I really didn’t know.  Bourbon and sugar, sounds all right to me. Then tonight I was having a little Robert Palmer obsession and found a song of his also recorded by the Mint Juleps.  Who has ever heard of them?  Not me.  But I could potentially sit on the veranda sipping mint juleps listening to the Mint Juleps (and advising the empress-but that’s another story).

    Apparently Eddie Redmayne, an actor you may never have heard of, is important in my life.  I do not know why.  But a friend of mine months ago told me about this creepy movie, Savage Grace.  Seriously twisted, but very well done.  Anyhow, Eddie Redmayne was in it and pretty darn brilliant at playing seriously twisted.  Then another friend told me about a miniseries.  Never thought I’d be interested, having never read a thing by Ken Follett.  But I do like swords and medieval stuff.  I completely got hooked on Pillars of the Earth.  Didn’t hurt that it was well cast with a couple of actors from my favorite movie, Pride and Prejudice (not the one with Colin Firth- which is also delightful) and two very strong, beautiful leading ladies (one with a wickedly delicious accent) and Eddie Redmayne.  Then tonight spouseman showed me the trailer for Les Miserables, which has… Eddie Redmayne. 

    The strangest connection of all today regards my quest for all the freaking addresses of everywhere I’ve lived since 1975.  This is a bit of an ordeal, since, as I told my girlies this morning, when spouseman and I were first married we moved every 5 days.  A bit of an exaggeration, but still.  I did pretty well with this in my horribly disorganized existence.  (which is frightening)  I left a message for my mother figuring she had a better chance of knowing my old addresses than I did of locating them here.  Well, I got a phone message from my brother.  We’re not close because usually he’s a yutz.  But in this matter, he came through with his ability to find crap on the computer unearthing all the addresses I knew I was missing and some I didn’t remember that I was missing.  (Honestly I don’t want to think about what kind of info is out there.)  And it was weird, but good. 

    I remember when fingerprinting when it actually involved ink.  And I got referred to as a “young lady” by someone under 50.  I didn’t mind that too much.  In any case, I got a pile of stuff done today that I should have done two weeks ago, so I feel like a rock star.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll get the things done that I should have done last week.

  • seven-sided wire cage

    Seven sided wire cage

    In the middle of a ghost town

    Open walls keep the sea monster in

    Cannot keep the noise of the silence out

    Drowning in a sea of smoke

    From the conflagration

    Of fire in the sea

    A bald man in a vest

    Plays Dixie on the banjo

    No dreams at all

    No maggots in the outhouse

    No sweeping up spilled tea

    No penguins on parade

    The open walls let the dreams out

    Cannot keep the psychoses in

    Little cottontail rabbits nibble

    On sweet tasty grass

    While predators lick their lips

    i think i’m going slightly mad.
    bluemooncat enormous thing 6. use the words: bald, smoke, sea monster, dreams, banjo, vest, rabbit, ghost town  

  • windows and doors

    a window
    depends on how you’re looking
    as to what you see
    and how you see it
    sometimes
    the view is beautiful
    sometimes it’s more
    beautiful than you think
    sometimes the eyes
    see only smudges
    sometimes the myriad colors
    of the prism as light reflects
    but a door
    may seem closed
    blocking, trapping, keeping in
    or out
    yet a brave turn
    of the knob
    and you can walk out
    run into the truth
    you can’t run through a window
    without shattering
  • beardo

    this is hilarious.  spawn wants one in blond.

  • stuff outside

    a hundred bazillion things to do this weekend

    Spawn is in her first memorial day parade today.  I don’t think we’ve ever been to this parade in the little town near us.  But I love a parade. 

    Spouseman’s show closes tonight.  I haven’t seen it yet, but I’ve heard that it’s hysterical.  So there’s that happening tonight with the kids and the in-laws.  Then one way or another those goddawful sideburns and horrendous ‘stache are going tonight. 

    Tomorrow is my friend’s annual picnic/party.  A couple of years ago my kids came out of her creek looking like swamp things. Lots of beer and a volleyball net.

    Flowers with my folks on Monday.

    Then the cast party Monday afternoon.  Silly people.  Guaranteed to be an amusing event.  I’ve been told I have to come this time.  (I’m a party skipper from way back.)

    The pool opens today.

    It couldn’t be a more gorgeous day.  The sun woke me up at 6something and I’ve been ready to get out in it since then.  I just can’t decide which nothing thing to do first.

    We’re dogsitting again.  So LLO’s energy is focused on covert cat ops.  Apparently we’re missing one.  She has to know where they all are and she has to make sure that the ones who want to get outside can there and when they want to come in that happens too.  It’s quite an operation.  She probably needs a badge.

    Started my other chair yesterday, but I don’t like it.  Need to start over.

    Ripped out about 8″ of crochet that wasn’t fun.  So now I need a new project (or to have renewed interest in an old one).

    Also turns out there are only 7 1/2 days of school left.  I didn’t know that until yesterday.  This is quite all right.  Except that I should probably get started on the stuff I have to do for summer. 

    I totally want to watch episode 4 of Pillars of the Earth.  Wouldn’t mind watching LOTR either.  And LLO and I never did start the read aloud of that after we finished The Hobbit.

    Today is perfect.  I’m going outside with my book.

  • dreams of the night

    bluemooncat enormous thing 26. poem about someone in the nude 
    (warning: nude people sometimes do things stunned)
    In dreams of the night
    She lay alone in her bed
    Soft skin against soft sheets
    Cotton, a caress as gentle
    As his fingertips
    Exploring peaks and swells
    The ticklish part at her waist
    Luscious hips, the crease
    Toward lower lips
    The moistness demonstrating
    Her readiness as
    His fingers slide deep
    She sighs as his slow strokes
    Stir wanting
    In dreams of the night
    She lay alone in her bed
    But he feels her too.
  • cool stuff my phone does

    While I was slowing going insane with the never-ending Haydn last night, I discovered that my phone can do funky effects with the camera.  Even though it is raining, I went outside to play.  You might wanna shade your eyes for the 4th picture, unless you stared into the solar eclipse and are already blind. 

    not really very pretty floribunda white roses better in blue perhaps

    wild strawberries in sepia.

    it’s a little rose and some buds.  i almost like this one even though it’s odd.

    where are my shades.  negative or something. 

    there @buddy71

    I appear to have nothing important to say today.  I should work on something, but I think I’m going to crawl into bed and take a nap.

     

  • gibberish

    i’m whupped. 

    the evening wrapped up with a very long 9th grade concert.  the music program in my town is just beyond the norm.  i’m pretty sure i can safely say this.  spawn is in both choir and band.  the choir was quite enjoyable.  i was still fresh at this point.  not only that, spawn likes to sing, is very animated, and even though it’s a choir and she’s come a long way, i can still still hear her voice in amongst the other kids.  (perhaps that’s delusion at this point, but i assure you, for many years, it was not.  she can sing pretty darn loudly.)  once again, my video didn’t download.  sigh.

    then we had orchestra.  they were very good.  i mean that.  but the first song they played was about 6 days long.  and i just can’t behave that long.  i wrote a note to the MIL “i wish i was haydn from haydn”.  she laughed.  and then we made fun of the song title.  cassation of something or another.  which is apparently an excuse to have up to 7 movements.  she called it cessation.  well, clearly not.  i thought castration was much more appropriate.  really, just end the song already.  and yes, i could tell it was difficult and it didn’t sound like 15 year old kids playing, so yay, orchestra.  but end the song already.

    band was also great.  but by that point it was going to take a sousa march to keep me from wanting to go to sleep.  and they didn’t play sousa. 

    and there was all the drama before we even got there.  because you know spawn hates band.  she must tell me this daily.  on the other hand, when i ask after the concert if she had fun, of course she did.  she always does.  and usually it’s obvious when she’s still on the stage that she had fun.  that girl can light up a room.  she’s fun to watch.  but the drama.  spare me.  just once.  tonight it was wardrobe.  because choir had no requirements but stinking band wanted the white and black and she didn’t want to wear white and black and she wants to quit band because of white and black.  and she didn’t wear white and black.  and it was ok.  but seriously.  why would a person sit around the house for hours after school not deciding what to wear and then 10 minutes before we need to leave have a hissy fit.  this i do not understand.  well, i probably do.  because she is my spawn.  which apparently means my clone. 

    and honestly today was long enough before the concert.  i was the sub in the room today.  and i think i’m done for the year with that.  there are 3 boys in the class who just can’t hold their shit together when i’m in charge.  and it is so frustrating.  167 days into the school year and some things should be crystal clear and they aren’t.  and i’m tired of listening to myself talk to them.  and everyone else gave me a hundred hugs today.  because they are sweethearts.  i don’t like who i am when i’m in charge. 

    and i saw a woman who used to be my friend being the total witch that she turned out to be.  with a b.

    it’s tech week for spouseman.  and i’ve had too much rum and coke.  the end.

  • tragic haiku

    Spawn and I were writing cooperative haiku this morning.  I haven’t written anything creative in weeks.  I’m getting back on the wagon with haiku to honor the dead.  This sorta works since Memorial Day is this weekend.

    The latest in a long year of famous people from my childhood. Notice how I cleverly (plagiarized) imbedded song titles.

    Robin you left us
    though you tried staying alive
    It’s a tragedy.
     

    Davy Jones. Even though Mickey was my favorite, I can’t help loving Davy because he’s short.  ;)

    always in my heart
    a pleasant valley sunday
    on my radio

    Who didn’t sing along with Donna Summer On The Radio and Hot Stuff and this one

    your steamy songs fit
    so well with a disco ball
    at the roller rink

     

     

    life is like a song
    with your voice whispering soul
    farewell Etta James
     
    How will the ball fall
    now that Dick Clark finally
    has left the bandstand?
     
     
    Earl Scruggs gave banjo
    a foggy mountain breakdown
    fingers fly- yeehaw.
     

    Bobby Brown you suck
    didn’t we almost have it
    all but you Whitney
     

    Hope you enjoyed my haiku.

  • Sunday stuff

    Weekend time really goes much faster than other time.  Very annoying.

    Today I learned how to change the battery in my phone.  It was not really that hard.  It is actually easy.  I am suddenly self-sufficient with my phone technology. 

    I think I’ve just about finished my footstool.  Still deciding if it needs just a little bit of something before I start urethaning.

    I sat in my wonder chair today (and am going back outside to do that some more in a minute).  While I was there I finished a crochet project. Now I just have to figure out what I’m going to do with it.

    LLO and I had a difference of opinion today.  She showed her displeasure by hiding in her room all afternoon.  I showed my displeasure by having time to mow the grass so that I could enjoy sitting on my heiney in the sunshine.  I’m not exactly seeing a downside to our disagreement. 

    Today was the last Sunday School class until fall.  I’m not sorry.  I’m quite ready to be done with one more thing.  I am going to miss the kid I did the word search race with.  Seriously bright kid.  He was in my real school class last year.  I was getting ready to read them a story today and he wanted to know what page it was.  I told him and he told me the book of the Bible.  He got this Bible last Sunday.  When they passed out brains, he got in line twice (and he’s adorable.)

    I cleaned a bathroom so I feel like a rockstar.  It wasn’t the hideous one.  But considering I dreamed that I cleaned above the fridge, I call that enough housework for one day.

    Played catch with LLO and spouseman.  She’s getting better. 

    Piano recital.  Egads.  Painful but brief.  At least LLO is done with lessons until fall.  Spawn has more because we’ve had trouble getting there.  I kept forgetting she had a lesson and she prefers not to know (and refuses to walk the 4 freaking blocks if I’m not home to take her.)  I think perhaps I shall file this under “not my problem”.

    I think that’s pretty much a full report.  It sure was a beautiful day.  I don’t really want to look at a rainy Monday.

Recent Comments

Categories