July 11, 2013

  • independence

    This week is one of my favorite weeks of the year. The town where I live has this enormous high-faluting arts festival. It’s been going on for many years- we came when I was a kid (not that my parents were ever into art, I really have no idea why we came then.) And the next town over has one too, a slightly less high-faluting version. In any case, Wednesday was kids day in my town and my angels had a booth and the rest of the week there is a “young artisans” booth in the the other festival and we’re there.

    These gigs are completely different for both the kids and me. Kids Day in town is busy. Really busy. The kids make more money then and there’s no time for relaxing. Because there’s always someone to see.  Kids from school or my summer camps. Coworkers. Acquaintances. Friends. It’s 5 hours of smiling and making nice. And it’s awesome. But not relaxing in the way that the other place is.

    Let me tell you about my day today. First of all, it was the absolute perfect Happy Valley day. Blue skies with just the right amount of fluffy clouds. Sun warm is just the right way but not too warm to be miserable. And I had essentially no responsibilities. The girls know what to do and it doesn’t matter at all to me if they do it (since the money they were in charge of today was all theirs laughing).  I don’t have to worry about LLO running amuck. There’s tons of stuff around to keep her entertained- even though the bouncy house isn’t free this year. (which does not please her, but is ok with me because a stinky LLO is .. stinky.)  So I got to sit on a beach chair in the grass listening to my phone and crocheting. I was supposed to read, but that didn’t happen today. Which is also fine.  I wandered the festival checking out the art. Found something really interesting- painting acrylics on metal and something with acrylics and resin. (maybe?)  I may look into that. I listened to a really fun mountain music band. I watched a rock band do their sound check and then it was time for us to go.  Bribed LLO with an ice cream cone to watch the first set of the band- which was also great fun. 

    So. My favorite things. Live music outside. Relaxing in the sun. And kids who don’t need their mother.

    http://anvilsandedelweiss.wordpress.com/2013/07/03/july-scavenger-hunt/

    1. independence is thematically important.

    Go ahead and tell me it doesn’t count.

    No reason or connection whatsoever for this SONG.

Comments (15)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *