May 31, 2012

  • they can’t all be laugh riots

    I really hoped I’d have time/inspiration to write something mildly clever this evening.  It was not to be.  Spouseman was kind enough to name this one for me.  Feel free to skip to tomorrow’s more exciting yet to be created installment.

    I watched the two hour season finale of the only show I’ve watched on real tv this whole year.  I’m excited to watch the whole season again on hulu, because I’ve promised my loud people that they can watch it when school is over.  Touch.  It’s all about connections and numbers, both of which I dig, and it makes me cry, which is my second favorite emotional outburst.  This last episode was great- tying all the other episodes together in a great little package. 

    Connections make my little head spin and my day has been filled with them.  I started the day somehow talking about mint juleps.  I had a college facebook friend share the link for what one is, since I really didn’t know.  Bourbon and sugar, sounds all right to me. Then tonight I was having a little Robert Palmer obsession and found a song of his also recorded by the Mint Juleps.  Who has ever heard of them?  Not me.  But I could potentially sit on the veranda sipping mint juleps listening to the Mint Juleps (and advising the empress-but that’s another story).

    Apparently Eddie Redmayne, an actor you may never have heard of, is important in my life.  I do not know why.  But a friend of mine months ago told me about this creepy movie, Savage Grace.  Seriously twisted, but very well done.  Anyhow, Eddie Redmayne was in it and pretty darn brilliant at playing seriously twisted.  Then another friend told me about a miniseries.  Never thought I’d be interested, having never read a thing by Ken Follett.  But I do like swords and medieval stuff.  I completely got hooked on Pillars of the Earth.  Didn’t hurt that it was well cast with a couple of actors from my favorite movie, Pride and Prejudice (not the one with Colin Firth- which is also delightful) and two very strong, beautiful leading ladies (one with a wickedly delicious accent) and Eddie Redmayne.  Then tonight spouseman showed me the trailer for Les Miserables, which has… Eddie Redmayne. 

    The strangest connection of all today regards my quest for all the freaking addresses of everywhere I’ve lived since 1975.  This is a bit of an ordeal, since, as I told my girlies this morning, when spouseman and I were first married we moved every 5 days.  A bit of an exaggeration, but still.  I did pretty well with this in my horribly disorganized existence.  (which is frightening)  I left a message for my mother figuring she had a better chance of knowing my old addresses than I did of locating them here.  Well, I got a phone message from my brother.  We’re not close because usually he’s a yutz.  But in this matter, he came through with his ability to find crap on the computer unearthing all the addresses I knew I was missing and some I didn’t remember that I was missing.  (Honestly I don’t want to think about what kind of info is out there.)  And it was weird, but good. 

    I remember when fingerprinting when it actually involved ink.  And I got referred to as a “young lady” by someone under 50.  I didn’t mind that too much.  In any case, I got a pile of stuff done today that I should have done two weeks ago, so I feel like a rock star.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll get the things done that I should have done last week.

Comments (8)

  • It sounds like a successful day.  ” )  Love all the connections–so wild how they work.  I need to go design my crown.

  • I’m sure whenever I go back home, I’ll have a pile of stuff to do as well. It always seems to happen

  • Why are you searching for all of your old addresses?

  • It is interesting to see people connect the dots in their lives.  I don’t have many

    WW2 started when I was 8 years old—big impact.

    Saw my wife to be when I was 17–changed my life.

    Born again Feb. 13, 1965–changed everything

    Retired at 62–saw how hard my wife had been working in the house all these years.

    Love Midway, Run Silent-Run Deep, Legally Blond, Uncle Buck, and the Brooky series.

    I am trying to get the house cleaned up  before my wife returns. I hired our house cleaner for another day.  Doing laundry, etc

    Look forward to your post tomorrow

    frank

  • never even knew his name. so now i do. thank you very much. seeking some eddie redmayne.

  • It seems like ages since I ave read pillars of the earth.

    When I want to give a “false telephone number I Give my rel old phone number.

  • I am glad my work week is over with. But am not looking forward to summer. So many people who take vacations and at least one week for me in the deep freeze. Going to have to watch Touch after I get done with the Hatfields and Macoys mini series…

  • @Zoz36 - So the same person who hooked me on Pillars just finished watching Hatfields.  how is your work week over and i still have another day?  that’s just not right.  :P
    @PPhilip - why do you want to give a false phone number?  i remember my phone number from 1975
    @be_the_rain - yes.  pillars, i think you will like it. there’s an evil bishop.
    @ANVRSADDAY - you have me wondering if i could do that.  put my life into just the key events and then have it only be a couple.  good luck with the house cleaning.  make sure you have one or two thoughts about how glad you are that she is coming home.
    @BoulderChristina - i had to get another freaking background check for school.  interestingly enough, i sent away the paper without making a photocopy for myself.  i’m just kinda a ditz.
    @xdeelynnx - never ending.
    @lanney - make it worthy of the empress of the world.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories