July 20, 2013

  • eh photos

    yakkity yak. Just some photos from what I’ve got going on. It’s hot and I’m busy.

    A really pretty day last Sunday.

    couldn’t decide which photo is better. This is a monument at the local military museum. A week ago I remembered what it was memorializing, today I don’t. Still, it’s cool.

    More from the military museum. This path leads up to that wall with names of all the fallen officers from the local area in WWI, listing where they died.  All but one said places in France. One poor guy died in Hoboken. In the time since I was a kid, they’ve added another wall listing all the enlisted men’s names too.

    A moment of zen. The creek is high. I used to play in here a lot.

    One of the cool things we did at camp this week.

    One of the other cool things. The kids were pretty excited about their shirts. And why not? They are indeed cool. (aren’t they adorable?)

    I’m missing Xanga or preparing myself to miss it.  Have a sappy song HERE.

Comments (32)

  • I love the military museums.  Sappy song?  lol

  • @olwd - i haven’t been inside the museum since i was a kid since i’ve decided war stinks. but i do like the outside part. somehow it’s restful.  hi. :)

  • COOL I love pictures

  • Awwww I love those shirts! Such an awesome idea! I may have to snag this idea for next year’s VBS, if I’m even still at my church.

  • @Marica0701 - snag away. i stole it from myself. who stole it from a xanga friend. so.  there you go. and the kids were really into it.@SisterMae - :)

  • I’ve got to know how you did the t-shirts! They are awesome!! I also like the 2nd & 3rd photos! A very interesting photo subject!

  • @murisopsis - that monument is coolness. i should get back there to take photos on a sunny day. or to read so i know something about it.  really cool monument.tshirts were easy peasy.  i scanned the kids’ art onto my computer and then printed onto transfer paper to make an iron on. i’ve gotten much better at the ironing now too. and sometimes i even remember to reverse the images so it’s prints correctly.

  • Nice. I’ve already strayed, but continue to stop by & visit. Nice to see you’re still busy & involved with what matters. ♥ Best wishes always

  • @armnatmom - wordpress? because i don’t think i’ve found you there. i’m the same name.

  • I WANT that sculpture. that torn metal phallic thing. ;)   of course, it would make me sad, if I remembered why it was created. so. maybe not. love love the t-shirts, with the kids inside them.  yes. those mobiles are pretty cute. how did the physics lesson go, with them learning to balance the different pieces. ;) oxo

  • That’s a nice memorial thingie. And the t-shirts are awesome, that’s really cool that you used their own artwork. I’m sure they were really happy about that, like you get something to wear PLUS look what I drew! Here! On my shirt! I would have been totally thrilled.

  • @Bels_Kaylar - ah. perhaps that’s why i liked the sculpture so much. yes, i think so. but it’s huge. wouldn’t fit in the front yard. ;)   i love those tshirts too. really pleased with that. as for physics. not. so. much. the kiddos wouldn’t even try tying. so i did the balancing and they did the choosing.  i may see about doing this camp with older kids next year. i think older kids would get more out of it.

  • @leaflesstree - i wouldn’t show them the tshirts until almost the end of camp on the last day. they were pretty darn eager to see. :)

  • I too am a big fan of the shirts showing the kids’ artwork. What a wonderful idea. I like how the picture shows them holding the correlating pictures.

  • @Crystalinne - i put a couple of my girl’s paintings on shirts to sell at the recent arts fest. and i was just so tickled with it. i knew the camp kids would like it too, and why not.

  • LOVE the t-shirts. Not sure I know how to scan the picture on this new computer yet. Learning…. dang, it never ends!

  • @ZSA_MD - it’s the printer that does the scanning. good luck learning all the nooks and crannies. i only know what i gotta know.

  • @promisesunshine – Won’t be blogging anywhere anymore which is why you haven’t found me there. I’ve gone over to the dark side now at FB

  • The kids mobile art and T-shirts are so so SO cool!!! Those will be things the mom’s save forever!!! Great ideas and great job!!! Yay for busy-ness, creeks, museums and fun!!! Won’t be long and the heat will turn into Autumn!!! YAY!!! Super Dooper BIG SILLY Cool HUGS for MoanDay!!!

  • I went and listened to the sappy old song. Some of those dudes were cute! I am still sad about Xanga. Change can be good. But it doesn’t mean we can’t be sad.HUGS!!!

  • I especially love the kids’ shirts.

  • @TheSutraDude - yea, me too. :) @adamswomanback - i love silly moan day hugs!!  right back at you. and there’s a song about change i could link in here if my brain would let me get all the way to it.

  • @mlbncsga - a fun poetry comment for a monday. rhyming beyond me, although i briefly considered.

  • the sky is bluethe monuments cool the kiddo’s shirtsthey make me droolthe song is sappythose guys are yappybut some are cutewho gives a hoot…I give a hoot - I think their cute 

  • Oh honey, I don’t like war either, but I love our troops for what the sacrifice.

  • @olwd - oh yes. the troops are just doing a job. and it’s a job i couldn’t do.

  • @olwd - i hope my comment came out the way i meant it. sincerely.

  • Me either dear.  That is also why I’m studying what I am.  Hopefully it will pay off.

  • Hey…Xanga Party on my Xanga site tomorrow night…Monday…at 7 p.m. Eastern Time. PLEASE show up if you can!!! HUGS!!!

  • @adamswomanback - you betcha. see you then. hugs

  • @promisesunshine - YAY!!!!!!!!!!! I was hoping you could come!!!!  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *