July 17, 2012

  • four eyes

    I’m some kind of silly today.  (Who I am kidding? I’m often some kind of silly.)  Yesterday I had the wonderful pleasure of visiting my very fine optician to find out why the heck I can’t read the phone book anymore.  Dang, it sucks to get old.  She upped the voltage on the close up side of my bifocals.  For crying out loud, it does stick in my craw that I have to have bifocals now (I mean again. still. already.)  Bifocals are for 80 year olds not 40 year olds.  (Isn’t that great how I just made you think I’m closer to 40 than 50?  I’m so clever.)  Where was I?  Oh, yes, I’m telling you about glasses prescriptions because I went to pick out my new frames because I would like to be able to read the phone book and to see words without holding them across the room.  I took Spawn with me.  Begged her actually.  Because.. 1) how in the heck can I pick out frames when I can’t freaking see and 2) she has good taste and 3) she can be entertaining.  She was clearly more than ok with this considering a conversation we had on the way home.  Which you’ll have to wait for because I’m pretending to be focused and chronologically organized.  I hope that’s working, because I’m actually neither today.

    Anyhow.  Spawn and I were at Target- kinda in a hurry because we had an hour to pick out, pay, and get back across town to pick up LLO.  We were late.  Which earned me a lecture since I was late to class this morning which meant Spouseman was late to pick up LLO from swim practice and therefore she was even later to camp than usual.  So I’m a little bit in the doghouse with her.  Funny girl at dinner asked if I was done eating.  I had food on my fork at the time and a plate full of food.  So, no, I wasn’t.  I asked if she wanted me to be done so she could watch tv.  Yes, of course that was the answer.  It was made clear that I didn’t care if she watched some mind-numbing tv as long as it was not My Freaking Little Pony.  For the record, she was busy all day, so she got a slow start on the brain rotting today.

    Target.  Spawn and I are at Target picking out my new glasses.  There really is a story here.  About glasses.  So we’re looking at all kinds of things and she’s giving me her opinion and such.  Then I start channeling my connection with apple woman and her funny story about shopping.  Oh, it wasn’t shopping today, it was hospital gowns.  But recently she had the story about hardware.  And her shopping stories make me laugh.  And apparently her hospital gown stories do too, because I was thinking about that and laughing to myself.  Until it wasn’t to myself anymore.

    Glasses.  I forget what even started it, but we got in the mode.  And by the time we’re sitting down at the little table, we have the salesclerk smiling too.  And I have my nose in the mirror trying on all these funky glasses because I can’t see.  Incidentally, her name was my name too, minus the e.  Do you know that song?  John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt, la la la la la la la la.  Here it is if you don’t know it.  Did you like Sesame Street?  I never really did.  And neither did my kids.  Of course Elmo was in his own world by the time my kids were Sesame Street age and holy crap that is bad stuff.  Although I do like Mr. Noodle.  On Elmo’s World. Get your mind out of the gutter.

    Yea. So my name minus the e suggests I flip the mirror over to the big side and I about jumped out of my chair because no one needs to see their face that big and I still couldn’t see anyhow.  And she laughed.  We’re looking at all these glasses and Spawn can’t focus today either.  She says she slept too much. I think my excuse is I slept too little.  And frankly I’m annoyed with her a little bit.  We had that conversation in the car too.  Where she has this great life of sleeping in and reading all day.  Wouldn’t it be great to be a teenager again.  I would love that.  That was the best life.

    Finally picked out the ones.  They are blue.  Not joking even.  I’m going from Bo Ring to blue.  They are just so cool.  I’m thinking to myself in the store that I might need to be getting my grown up out for a test drive.  You know.  Graduate. Get a real job.  Quite playing around.  Set a good example.  And then I pick out blue glasses.  I almost picked out glasses that were very much like the glasses I had in the 80′s or 90′s.  Because I loved glasses back then.  Big honking suckers that covered your whole face.  Those were the kind of glasses I liked.  Not these puny little things that just help you see.  I prefer multi-purpose eyewear.

    Anyhow. So we’re doing all the glasses lining up things.  Spawn and I carrying on the whole time.  My name minus the e tells me to sit up straight and put my hands in my lap.  And honestly, can I do that?  I give it a good try, but I’m already working up a giggle.  And she’s trying to make a line on the glasses (probably for those damn bifocals) and then my name minus e starts laughing too.  She can’t draw a straight line.  I just started giggling.  Couldn’t stop.  Finally we both calm down (mostly) and she gets the line drawn. 

    Spawn notices this poster of a girl with big brown eyes (who must be advertising contacts) and she says “she’s staring deep into my soul”.  Yes, my girl is a poet.  And I said, “she wants you to clean your room”.  My name minus e thought that was hilarious.  Pretty sure she’s pregnant, so I think if she doesn’t already know about children and their cleanliness issues, she will.  This is the portion of the adventure where I realize we have to leave like right this second if I have a prayer of being on time.  I tell Spawn to go get her sister.  And this results in the expected eye rolling.  This is my current favorite joke.  It never fails to get the right response.  MOM. I’m TOO YOUNG TO DRIVE.  Golly that cracks me up.  We pursued this line of conversation as it’s either laugh about the impending doom of the world (as that kid hits the road) or start popping those drugs that are good for ulcers because who in the heck is going to teach her how to drive.  She mentioned that her grandfather is a responsible adult.  I jumped on the “I do not think so” bandwagon pretty fast on that.  Both of those elder male drivers are just freaking terrifying on the road.  She truthfully asserts that Grandpa could teach her how to buy tires and change her oil.  Absolutely.  But I had to add that she already knows how to lick tires.  Because that is my second favorite joke.  The girl licked one tire when she was 4 because she wanted to know something about that.  (I’m serious.)  I’ll be in the old folks home still razzing her about that.  Because it gets the right response.  For a smart girl, she really isn’t so smart sometimes. 

    We carried on the whole time we were there.  My name minus e thanked us for being the most fun she’d had all day.  We thanked her as well.  (And I bought blue glasses.)  It’s no fun to make a scene when it isn’t appreciated.

    On the ride home, Spawn asks me if we can have some mother/daughter bonding: shopping, lunch, something else but I forget what it was.  Absolutely.  And she asks if LLO can too.  Sure.  And LLO wants that too, but this week she’d like our bonding to be cooking.  Who is this person.

     

     

Comments (38)

  • I wish my mom growing up was half as cool as you. Well, probably she was, but she never showed the cool side. I know for sure we never burst out laughing while trying to pick out my new glasses. It was more like me going, “hmm,” and her going, “just pick on already!!”

    And wow, blue glasses. Every time I get new glasses I think I should get some outrageous color just for funs. But I don’t. Maybe if I didn’t have to wear them all.the.time I might, but I can’t see two feet in front of my face without them so that means I’d be stuck with the outrageous glasses even when I decided for some odd reason I was going to be sensible and adultish that day. Ha. I mean, I’d fail anyway but at least I’d be able to pretend for a short while.

  • @leaflesstree - i seem to get something outrageous every other time.  probably shouldn’t have made such a life decision on a day like today.  i can’t do anything without my glasses.  i think i must have the worst astigmatism in the history of the earth.  it’s freaking outrageous how much my glasses cost.  told spawn it’d be cheaper if i just got new eyeballs.  blue.  geez.  but i love my shades and they are purple.  oh whatever. it’s done.  

  • @promisesunshine - Yes, new eyeballs, definitely. Where can I sign up for eye transplants? I can read without my glasses (not much else), but I expect that will change in a few years. :P

  • @leaflesstree - when you get old. pfthtt

  • I hate shopping for goggles. They never have frames that I like so I end up wearing whatever my wife likes. But this time around they had some frames that were pretty close to what I’d like, and it turned out that she didn’t hate them so I’m wearing them now. Next time probably won’t go so well… good thing I don’t care if I look goofy. 

    Sounds like it was a fun day. And LLO wants to cook? Get all the heck over that!

  • @HappierHeathen - she’s talking about spaghetti and meatballs.  but i’m all the heck ok with that.  my girls are learning to cook in desperation.  because i surely don’t have the attention span to keep that kind of activity up day after darn day.  spouseman won’t go shopping for goggles with me anymore.  i never take his advice.  for some reason that bothers him.  but seriously.  how good can his taste be.
    don’t you just wear shades all the time? like your profile thingy.

  • @promisesunshine - I could never get my daughters interested in cooking… The youngest said that she wanted to find her a man who could cook just like Dad. I tried. On the up side, the eldest grandson is into cooking, and I’ll be trying to corrupt the eldest granddaughter soon — she’s a grandpa’s girl so I might get away with it.

    How good can spouseman’s taste be? That’s a silly question. Her murried you!

    I wear the shades only when outdoors — the eyebones are too old for better hallway vision. Miracle of miracles, they had some little clippity-onny thing that actually fit properly and doesn’t look dorky so I don’t have to keep a pair of prescription shades. That’s never happened before. And the frames aren’t nearly so big as in the profile picture… but the hair and beard are longer to make up for it.

  • that’s exactly my point about spouseman’s taste. @HappierHeathen - 
    good for you on catching the next generation.

  • @promisesunshine - I kinda figured that was the point… but you still won’t accept his advice, so… I’ll shut up now!

  • You must run on 200% pure bubbling energy!

  • @awoolham - for about 20 minutes a day.  :)

  • Flashing on Invasion Of The Body Snatchers… You didn’t see any pods about the house? Wow, pretty soon they’ll be washing clothes and cleaning their rooms… It’s A Wonderfull Life music playing in the background…

  • I don’t need glasses, knock on wood. At least you had a bonding experience and it was a good one…

  • this reminds me that I need to get an eye doctor appointment

  • Sounds like you both had fun.

  • @godfatherofgreenbay - just one of the services i provide.  (timely reminders)
    @Zoz36 -  not likely.  we specialize in all talk, no action.
    @Shining_Garnet - that we did.

  • I remember not being very happy with the idea of having to wear byfocals years ago myself, but despite your young age you’ll adjust to it soon and the color blue will match perfectly well with your magnificent summer furniture…

  • i was thinking the tire might taste like licorice when i tried.

  • @longshadow618 - but she doesn’t like licorice.  how did it taste?

  • @longshadow618 - :D  can’t say that i’m familiar with that flavoring.

  • very cool that you and Spawn are relating to each other and it always shocked me when my boys got to the age when we were actually talking and understanding each other.:):)

    do we get a photo of you in the new glasses?

  • @Grannys_Place - photo depends on how they look on me.  and if i ever have a good hair day.  and if somebody does it without my knowledge.  you know.  stuff.  and after they get here, of course.  but thanks for asking. 

  • Blue is good! At least you can find them at!!

  • I couldn’t wear bifocals. Made me nauseous. I went through some rough days there. In the end I got contact lenses, because the right eye had myopia and the left one had astigmatism. 

    Love the way you both bond. The best times of my life are when I am with my daughter, driving to St. Louis and we are like young kids, jabbering away. 

  • @ZSA_MD - i have a friend who wears a far in one eye and a near in the other.  i’m sure i couldn’t do that.  i didn’t have a lot of success with contacts (30 years ago. ha)
    i’m happy on the bonding days.  more than enough days she thinks i’m dirt.

  • I sure loved reading this—and early in the morning before half of my brain is awake.

    My wife and single daughter have this kind of fun as well when they shop. It is not stop laughing. I stay at coffee shops because I don’t want to spoil their fun.

    I got my first glasses in my early 30′s as recall. One optometrist said I was going blind, but later when I was using a magnifying glass at work, someone suggested an ophthalmologist.  I got check out (not sexually) and the doc said that I just need a pair of glasses!!!!!!!! I was not going blind. I bought my first pair of progressive glasses and loved them.

    Nice to see you having so much fun.

    frank

  • I’m expecting a photo of the glasses and even better would be you in your new glasses and even better would be you in your new glasses with that super duper close-up shot like the one at the store!  Mothers and daughters seem to have something special and when it is going good it is great and when it isn’t, watch out!

  • @vexations - you’re EXPECTING??  ordinarily, i hear a word like that and i immediately do the opposite.  however.  since it’s YOU, i will share a photo of me in the new glasses when they arrive.  but don’t let it go to your head.

    the mother/daughter thing is going pretty well right now with both of them. knock on wood.

    @ANVRSADDAY - well, i’m glad you weren’t going blind.  it’s hard to imagine that would be a first reaction.
    i got glasses in 4th grade.  they were awful, i hated them.  i wouldn’t wear them in school.  and then i threw them against the wall in my room until i broke the frames.  but guess what?  i still had to wear them.  so i had ugly gold frames taped together.  for a long time.  i don’t believe that i purposefully broke any more glasses.  :)

  • @promisesunshine - I had to wear gold round wire glasses as a kid. The doc said that I had ‘lazy eye.’. lol  My eyes have never been lazy. lol

    I don’t blame you for throwing your glasses. I think it is tough for gals to wear glasses or have braces when they are young and beautiful.

    frank

  • @ANVRSADDAY - crap. i had braces too.  i guarantee you 6th grade with ugly glasses and before braces and just being 12, there wasn’t a prayer of beauty.  i’m glad my first kid survived 6th grade with nice glasses and no braces needed.  2nd kid has no glasses and no braces needed yet either.  i’m gonna go cry now.  remembering middle school.

  • Perhaps you had better not, my head and ego are really swollen @promisesunshine - 

  • @vexations - too late now. the decision is made and you’ll have to live with the consequences of your words.

  • I hate consequences, especially relevant to my own behavior.  Shoot. 

  • @vexations - well. good.  then we’re both suffering.    hopefully a photo won’t be that catastrophic for anyone.  

  • @promisesunshine - My Waterloo was 8th grade when I was 14. I never tell what happened, but it was an act of sadism. 

    I guess all kids deal with grade school abuse and bullies.

    It is too bad.

    Then there is the appearance issues that is very tough on girls at such a tender age.

    frank

  • @ANVRSADDAY - wouldn’t it be great if we lived in a world where we built people up instead of tearing them down.  there would be so much less heartache.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories