July 16, 2012

  • what I have to say about art

    I like sculpture gardens.  I just do.  Maybe I like them because they are outside.  Maybe I don’t need a reason.  For whatever reason, sensical or not, I probably enjoyed the sculpture garden at the Smithsonian more than anything else.

    Come with me.

    I had to explain what this was to the kids. (it’s an eraser) Then I heard somebody repeating my explanation to his family.  Claes Oldenburg.  Lookie there.  He also did that fantastic clothespin in Philthydelphia.

    Yes. They have no heads.  Some naughty young men got into trouble because they jumped over the fence to take photos.  Who would do such a thing?  Not me, I only take photos when the sign says not to.  Ha. (If I can get away with it.)

    Fountain.  Nice.  Really nice.  Stupendously wonderfully fantastically nice.

    Good place for feets.

    mine too.  whatever.

    Rabbit?  Makes me want to look for the Red Queen.

    This one appealed to me.  Because it does.

    Chairs.  Kinda reminds me of a stacking game we used to play.  Called Chairs.  :)   Looks different from the front.

    This sucker was interesting.  It looked different with every step.  From where I was standing, I could see that the walls are not facing out.  I can’t make my eyes see it the way it really is, even though I was there and KNOW how it is.  I kinda want to drive back there right this second and figure it out.  I also wish I’d read the placard now. Oh, of course, Roy Liechtenstein. (spelling nebulous there)  Have a link, because it is just THAT COOL.

    This was my other favorite.  I’m disappointed with my capture.  I was rushed.  That’s my excuse.  And people kept getting in my way.

    We actually made it TO the modern art museum.  Nobody wanted to be there but me and I was tired too.  So we walked through the gift shop and then left.  I do think these viney trees are super cool.

    As is this fantastic door. 

    And another fountain.

    That’s what I have to say about art.

     

     

     

Comments (32)

  • These are some great photos.

  • Thanks for the tour! For some odd reason, the rabbit was my favourite. I must say, I don’t recall any of my erasers having brush bristles. Are you sure its not the top attachment to a vibrator?

  • I like that tree.

    the house thing is like an Escher print.

    neat stuff.

  • @plantinthewindow - isn’t that tree great?  i just love it. and the house.  so freaking cool.
    @Kellsbella - it’s a typewriter eraser.  remember typewriters?  remember typewriters before correction ribbon?  (me neither)
    @my0615 - thank you!

  • Very interesting pieces. I like sculptured art. Paintings though, are a ‘you like em or you don’t’ thing with me….

  • These are great and I love that eraser.

  • I like what you have to say about art.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen a typewriter eraser.  

  • I love fountains too. I could just sit around and watch them for a long long time. Why didn’t you like that gnarly tree? I think the first picture of the tree was excellent. 

    Very nice post.Thanks for taking us along. 

  • unfortunately i do remember typewriters (with carriage returns and all) and using those exact same erasers with the bristles.. i LOVE claes oldenburg’s art; in fact, have this one saved to my pictures from a ways back!! and that rabbit, love it. the nasher here in dallas had a display of very unusual sculptures here a while back, richard and i enjoyed thoroughly. some of these sculptures remind of what they have / had. glad you got to admire these from close range.

  • Fountains have a lot of grace.

    And that house is tricky. I kept puzzling what was wrong with it. :P

  • Cool pics. I dig that rabbit.

  • Cool stuff. There is so much to see in D.C. that I think you could go every summer for ten years and see something new each time. I have been twice but the first time I was two so it doesn’t count. Will have to remember sculpture garden for next time. Whenever that is.

  • I like the fountains and somebody had the right idea sticking their feet in! The tree is awesome too..:)

  • @leaflesstree - i’ve been several times, but definitely have still missed many things.  great place.
    @Bricker59 - glad you liked my pics.  the rabbit is something.  thanks for the rec.
    @StrawberrySunrises - i love fountains (waterfalls, creeks, waves.  anything with moving water.)  i almost didn’t take a pic of the house.  and it is just so cool.
    @be_the_rain - i was checking out his stuff.  he has an ice cream cone tipped on the top of a building in germany.  so cool. i think at one point i had an old fashioned typewriter in this house.  and i’m almost positive my mom had one of the eraser gizmos.  i’m pretty sure i’ve seen one at close range.  in fact i wouldn’t be a bit surprised if i asked her she’d have one now.
    @ZSA_MD - i LOVE the tree.  i just didn’t like my photos.  maybe i just prefer it far away or with more light or something.  it’s an awesome tree.  makes me totally want a metal tree sculpture in my yard.  thanks for the rec.
    @Erika_Steele - thank you.  thanks for visiting.
    @Grannys_Place - it’s just fun, isn’t it? thanks for the rec.
    @armnatmom - i think i might be the same way. 

  • @a_thousandmiles - it was hot.  my feet were in too.  just not in the pic.  

  • I love the rabbit and the tree :)  

    Im dying to see MOMA!

  • Great sculptures! When the boys were young we were at one of the DC Smithsonian museums with an outdoor sculpture garden – I have photos of the guys in from of the sculptures mimicing the poses. It was too funny! Looks like loads of fun!

  • @murisopsis - love that.
    @wretched_epiphany - i’m just going to have to find someone to go to an art museum with me.  that’s all there is to that.  apparently no one in my family.

  • Me thinks you are just plain dangerous with a camera in your hands.  Also very cool with your pics.  But why not your feet in the pool too…..?  You just hold the camera out at arms length … well, you know. 

  • @vexations - i took a photo of my feet.  just thought 5 feet were better than 2.  and where did the other foot go, anyhow.  whyfore you thinketh me dangerous with a camera in my hands?  hold on a sec. i’ll add mine in.  you can check out my green toenail polish.  :)

  • @promisesunshine - green toenail polish just add evidence to your danger.  Anyone who doesn’t obey posted signs is a danger to the social order (and that is a good thing) 

  • xanga isn’t displaying photos for me. :(

    oh wow. that house sculpture thing IS cool.

  • @vexations - i think there are some serious flaws in our social order currently.  but i’m not gonna talk about that.
    @distractedbyzombies - i am sorry you can’t see my awesome photos.  ha.  apparently xanga is causing some trouble today.  i’ll probably be suffering with those issues after everyone has been resolved.  how are you today?

  • @promisesunshine - right now, tired and hungry. but I got a star in my windshield fixed without any hassle from the salesman, so…um. mission accomplished. oh, and no blind rage, so far as I can tell. neat, huh?

  • @distractedbyzombies - a star?  i should be able to figure out what you mean, but stars are shiny and i’m a little distractable (how in the freak is that spelled) this afternoon.  yahoo. on the rage-free.  i used to yell a lot.  and throw stuff.  and once upon a time i could go a long time without smiling.  any hour without blind rage is a success.  hmm..  i just remembered i was thinking about you on the way home from school.  but now i can’t remember why.  i’m sure it was a good thing. (and not creepy)  wow. i am letting loose the ADHD this afternoon.

  • @promisesunshine - no worries. it’s just the mind-bending effect of the house illusion. rattles the constitution.

    star = one of those little cracks that hasn’t started creeping across the windshield yet. I usually get them from rocks. I have no idea if star is what they’re really called. I just couldn’t think of a better name. :D

  • @distractedbyzombies - smacks forehead.  duh.  

  • Funny how two people can be in the same place and see totally different things. I was in DC on Friday at the art museum too, but we went inside and missed the sculpture garden. The boys wanted to see The Art of Video Games, which was on exhibit. Then I ended up at Impressionism and the Gilded Age – who knew I’d like the Gilded Age?

    Enjoyed your pictures.

  • I wish I had more time and energy. I’d put a sculpture “garden” in at the camp!

  • @Aloysius_son - well, if you put in a sculpture garden, you must know that i would make a point of coming to the soiree.  (which is probably a good reason for you not to.  )

    @DMMeyer - the sculpture garden was a block away from the art museum.  and now i’m all the more disappointed that i still haven’t seen the art.  i love impressionism.  would probably faint on the spot in front of monet.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *