July 20, 2012

  • life’s a beach

    I’m going to take a little trip.  Not really.  There are a couple things I could use right now.  A vacation is one.  And the beach is the other. 

    For a bunch of years we did a beach vacation with some friends of ours.  It really was the best week of the whole year.  We’d start talking about it when we starting paying deposits on our palatial accommodations (a couple of those years we shared a house with our friends too- the best of the best trips).  Deposits started in November.  So there was excitement in our land pretty much from November to when we went- which was almost always late July. The vacation lived up to the hype too. 

    We didn’t go last year and we’re not going this year.  It sucks.  I’m not gonna lie.  They are leaving tomorrow and staying two weeks.  I’m not necessarily jealous.  We survived staying home last year and we’ll survive again this year.  We have other things going on and it’s ok.  We have priorities too, of course, that don’t include spending 2-3 months mortgage on a rental for a week of vacation.  And that’s that. 

    It’s more a philosophical thing.  This is the beach we do.  It’s Long Beach Island, New Jersey (not to be confused with Long Island).  It’s a skinny island accessible with only one road.  At one end of the island is Barnegat Lighthouse and at the other end is the other end.  I’ve actually never been to the other end.  Who needs to go to the other end when there is this perfection.  The beaches on the section of the island where we stayed are only open to a couple blocks of homes and the island is not very wide there.  It’s not crowded and it has life guards.  You can see how beautiful it is.

    It’s a state of mind.  It’s freedom and fun.  It’s letting loose.  When the biggest thing you have to worry about is sunscreen.  When the tidal chart is more important than the calendar.  When the sound of surf replaces every other noise.  When every day is a gift covered in sand and salt.  Add in puzzles and twizzlers and books and sharing dinners and laughter and friends.  It’s heaven.

    this is LLO looking particularly cute and attitudinal.  maybe 7 or 8. 

    I admit it.  I’d rather be there than here.

Comments (40)

  • Wow. I think you’ve had more than your fair share already. Send some of that my way!

    Um, I mean sorry. *HUGS*

    and

    *big drinks with little umbrellas*

  • @distractedbyzombies - ah. big drinks with umbrellas.  that’s the answer.  i think i shouldn’t plan on being online tonight.  :)

    so. i’m whining?  honestly, i’d like to get the hell away from the utter pile of shit that’s happening in my town and state right now.  and from the general news around the country.  i need a break from reality.  you can join me.  philosophically.

  • @promisesunshine -  Between all that has happened of late, I’m buying the first group of tickets out here…Calgon take me away…

  • I hate news days like this.

    I hate not being in Hawaii on my birthday.

    I wish you better times later. I love the beach–I always did–as a child, teen, young adult, and now in my old age. If I had it my way, I would be retired in Hawaii, but like you–it does not  make sense.

    hugs

    frank

  • @ANVRSADDAY - i think i just hate the news period.  there’s nothing happening that my little head needs to know.  i’m too simple for this world.
    i have always loved the beach too.

  • I never cared for the beach, but I mirror your thoughts on wanting to get away. I love to travel, but haven’t been able to go where I want to go, or do what I want to do just because I have my summers off. Sucks to be poor. Pour me one of them umbrella drinks too.

  • @DMMeyer - that it does. come on over.  we’ll commiserate.

  • You neglected to comment on the fishing.

    I’m sorry you are unable to get away. As president of “the unable to get away” club…I welcome you.

  • on another note….your kids are adorable.

  • @Kris0logy - oh. yea. i should have said.  the poser in purple is my littleloudone quite a few years ago.  she’s 11 now.  the partner in crime is her friend since birth practically (who is now 10).  in the upper pic, spawn is in the middle and the other two girls are the older sisters of llo’s partner.  they are delightful girls- all 5 of them.

    @Bricker59 - there is no fishing at the beach.  the beach is all about fun. 
    being a member of the “unable to get away” club has absolutely no perks. (except maybe the president is ok)

  • I am a beach lover and The ocean calls me every summer but like you I havent been to a real each for a couple of years now and i long to go back. Beautiful place and happy kids. What’s not to love?

  • @awoolham - i was thinking earlier that i’m just going to have to find somewhere else to get that white noise to turn down the volume for a little while.

  • So sorry you are unable to get away and I totally understand the need for money to go to priorities.  That is one beautiful beach.

  • @Grannys_Place - and you know beautiful beaches.  i didn’t mean to come off whiny.  i really didn’t.  there’s so much anguish in the world now, i’m really not that self-absorbed that i think this is important stuff.

  • @promisesunshine - Sweetie you din”t come off whiney.  You were just talking about reality.  I think we all would like to whine about money and the lack of it.

  • @Grannys_Place - thank you.  you are very kind.

  • When the city is terribly hot and nothing to do, then the beach is a great option.

    Yeah there are some circumstances that force us not to have that other option. I hope that you plan real well and do the things that need to be done and have other options too.
    Yeah I sort of try to plan things ahead, but also know realistically some plans will never go as planned. Thanks for sharing some beach scenes.

  • ahh, i almost missed seeing my girlies !!!!! makes me smile all the way through my heart!

  • I live at the beach and I’d rather be there…almost no tourists! We get about a million new people every week here from May to September…locals can’t even see the sand for the bodies till after Labor Day.

  • Looks like fun. Sorry you haven’t been on vacation in a few years.

  • That place sounds amazing. I live in sunny socal yet only go to the beach once a year. I should probably go more often. I know every time I do i’m just so at peace with the world. Well so as long as it’s not too crowded.

  • You beach too much.

  • @PrisonerxOfxLove - you’re judgmental.  i beach when i feel like beaching and i’m sunshine and flowers when i feel like sunshine and flowers.  i’m a multifaceted person. 

    @VNlilMAN - we need a little peace. wherever it is.

    @Shining_Garnet - it wasn’t really complaining about no vacation.  i know it sounded that way.  my life is noisy right now.

    @moniet - crowds, ick.  at least you have the beach the rest of the year.  sigh.

    @be_the_rain - 

  • love love love this post. going for vacation to a beach is the bestest thing in the entire world. such happy photos you have shared. thank you. 

    i need to go to a beach.

  • I’ve been moaning for the beach all summer but it will do no good. Not this year anyway! If I start putting money away now maybe next…sigh! 

  • @ZSA_MD - judging by your profile shot, the beach is a special place to you.  makes me smile every time i see it. (this pic)
    @slinky - being a responsible adult really stinks. 

  • looks like lots of fun.

  • @plantinthewindow - i just saw them, they are getting ready to go.  i’m a selfish person, but i really wish we were going too. 

  • Lovely memories… hold onto those until you can make an escape to the sand and surf… maybe next year.

  • It’s the friends that really make it.

  • @Inciteful - it surely is.  and that’s brilliant.  because we do the puzzles and dinners and laughter when we’re not at the beach too.  so really i’m lowering our chances of skin cancer and keeping sand out of the car.  :)

    @murisopsis - beach fun memories do linger.  this is true.

  • That sounds like the beach where we were  — not too crowded–no alcohol, no nudity, just people reveling in the sunshine and waves.  Good shots of the girls.  I’m glad I met them except that now I miss them.

  • @lanney -   i think LBI is dry.  had to bring with us.  :)
    the girls like you too.  which is especially good considering they say we’re twins. 

  • Those are great photos. I know how you feel. I love the beach. LOVE it.

  • @ordinarybutloud - especially the mojito toting house boy.

  • This is exactly how I’ve been feeling lately. Really wanting to see the beach. I wasn’t able to go last year due to financial reasons, and my vacation in August will be frugal to say the least.

  • @boxedwine - we’ve had our vacation. it was a day at the smithsonian.  need beach. sigh.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *