July 15, 2012

  • larning new stuff

    Since I happen to have stuff I’m supposed to be doing, I think I’ll just give you all some more pictures.

    First stop at the Smithsonian was the Castle.  I’d never been in there before.  James Smithson donated a fortune so the little old US could have a cool place to learn stuff.  He’d never been here.  There’s a crypt thing in the castle that suggests he visited.. later. I’m presuming the statue is Smithson.

    Here’s the back end.  Better lighting apparently so it doesn’t look so gothic.  What an odd sort of building to see in a big city.

    On this back side there was a beautiful garden.  My kids were flabbergasted that it was a rooftop garden.  They couldn’t grasp that idea, even after we went 3 floors down in the museum.  I’ll tell you about the African Art exhibit later.  It’s only there from June to December, I think.  Very cool stuff.  I’m wandering a bit here.  I thought this “tree” was so bizarre.  It’s a dhobi tree.  There were lots of them. 

    A magnolia tree- still blooming!  And one of the skylights for the museum below.  And some lovely construction in the background too.

    I love this fountain!! Against my better judgment, I gave the girls coins to toss down.  I was pretty sure something untoward would happen.  They’d hit someone on the head and we’d get sued or they’d fall over the railing.  But, no, not this time.  Anyhow.  Spawn missed the fountain and her coin landed in the plants on the second floor (the spikey green things inside the railing?) and of course LLO would hear nothing of what I said.  I did amuse a lady entering the staircase (which was spiral of course) when I said I was going to replace her with a dog.  Then LLO got down there and was doing who knows what to get that coin back (I couldn’t watch) and the security guard said “no refunds” which made Spawn and I laugh our heineys off.  And she snuck up on the elevator and let Spawn try again.  And we all three laughed hysterically until we managed to find Spouseman who is so above our humor that he was hiding.

    See? Green spikey plants. 

    So, I said I really liked it, right?  One more shot. From the bottom. 

    One more fountainy thing.  I’m not going to do it justice.  The oval parts are covered in water.  The middle one is a mirror.  Light comes from an angle and reflects onto the screen which is the cyclops smiley face.  It was really cool and I wished I had the right psychics words to ‘splain it to LLO (who wasn’t listening to me anyhow.)  Um. I mean physics of course.  I disliked physics so much, I can’t say the word even now.

    And now I’m laughing again.  You wish that you amused yourself as much I amuse myself.

Comments (14)

  • Hey, someone’s got to do the amusing. 

    Sounds like you guys had a great time. :)

  • Haha. Sounds like it was pretty awesome and y’all had a blast. :)

  • I want to go to The Air and Space Museum again before I get too old to enjoy it…

  • @Zoz36 - never too old for that one.  we didn’t get to that one this trip.  i guess we’ll just have to go back.

  • I went to the one at the Wright Patterson wayyyyy back in the day…

  • When we visited DC the whole thing was blocked off due to the construction. We were able to step inside the foyer and then back out. We didn’t see the fountain but did take a photo of the statue and the exterior just because it was so odd a building! I have issues with physics too. It is so evil to turn things we experience daily into (GAH!) math!

  • @murisopsis - i got no problem with math.  i suppose just don’t make it real?  i dunno.  i’m so proud of myself- i helped a young lady with her algebra before her test. not that she’d retain what i told her. still i figured it out!!  worthy of a gold star. in my humble opinion.

    i have more adventures for tomorrow.  :)

  • waitwaitwait ARE YOU STILL IN DC?!?!

  • @onestepcloserto_perfection - oh crap.  it was a total fly by.  drove lanney from bwi to fredericksfreakingburg friday, did the smithsonian on sat. and then did a whirlwind tour of all the places we used to live.  did all that in 24 hours.  i feel bad!  it’s my horrible memory.  i DID think of looking you up when i first started thinking about this idea, but then i blinked and it was gone.  

    @Zoz36 - i have no idea where that is. 

    @Sir_Sparrow - thanks

  • Wright Patteron Air Base has a museum filled with aircraft and spacecraft. It’s outside of Dayton Ohio.

  • @Zoz36 - sounds like fun.  airplane stuff is so interesting.

  • That really is a great place from everything that I have read. Several Xangans have posted about their visits and they are always interesting. Nice to see you had a good laugh.

    Hope your new week is going well.

    frank

  • @ANVRSADDAY - thank you, frank.  today has been pretty good for a monday.  the smithsonian is amazing.  but pretty far from cali.  carrie

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories