February 10, 2012

  • the freaking remote

    The tivo remote was missing.  This is a huge deal to some people in my household.  It is not a big deal to me because I honestly don’t know how to use the dang thing and all those shows that are recorded for me are going to sit there unwatched until the earth spins into space probably.  So we had a double whammy that shouldn’t have been any trouble for me.  I mean really.  Because there it is: the device the children want in the midst of the trash heap of the living room that is filled with their crap, not mine.  Anyone with a lick of sense could figure out that the children need to clean up the room (and put stuff away) and they will find the remote.

    Unfortunately, I was home.  I actually wished desperately that I had class to go to last night because that would have been way better than the reality.  Spawn is incapable of looking for anything.  When she was little, we used to make fun of her- she’d stand in the middle of her room spinning around looking at eye level saying “where is my underwear?”  I’m not making this up.  She’d look at the ceiling to find her shoes.  So here’s spawn’s contribution to the looking: she reported that spouse thought the remote had fallen in the trashcan and that now this $200 piece of equipment was now useless.  Yes, of course, if the remote MIGHT be in the trash why bother looking anywhere else.  (Yes, I did wonder why said spouse didn’t go look in the freaking trash, but the answer to that doesn’t fit here chronologically.)

    Littleloudone, who used to be the best finder in the house, was having one of her days.  Possibly exacerbated by the figurative sharp stick that spawn was applying to the situation.  So I decided if the kids cleaning wasn’t going to happen, that we could try a simple exchange of services.  Told LLO that I would look for the remote as soon she started practicing her drum.  (I personally thought this was win-win since it would help avoid the drama next week of getting adequate drum practice in.)  This was the worst idea you can imagine.  Fit ensued.

    Then the phone call.  Do I ever hate the phone.  I made Spawn take it and speak to her dad (as I will still a pissed about the trash comment and now pretty much incapable of speech.)  He had to stay late at work.  Spawn, being a basically kind, problem-solving child decided to cook dinner.  Which is great.  Except that she wanted to make some kind of pork stir fry and LLO and I both really just wanted mac-n-cheese.  I had an appointment at school in less than an hour and Spawn really takes her time (and makes a huge mess) when she cooks.  Well, she strongly believed that we should save the mac-n-cheese for when we were in a hurry.  Because you know there is only so many boxes of Kraft mac-n-cheese at the store.  She didn’t like my answer.  So upstairs she goes and starts wailing, opening the door every so often just so I know she is still upset.

    And there’s LLO calling me everything but mother.  And then.  Poof.  I said something about respect (no idea what, honestly) and LLO says to me (this I do remember verbatim):  You will never know how much I respect you.  And I definitely thought, yes, you are right, I never will.  Next thing I know, she practices her drum for the full 30 minutes without my saying another word.  I clean the living room.  I found all kinds of goodies in the couch including a remote (the wrong one), Spawn’s missing inhaler, some kind of corkscrew device, and a whole lot of icky stuff that I left there.  I went to my meeting, came home to dinner and calm.  The second I walk in the door, LLO remembers where she dropped the remote the day before and that was that.

    And we wonder why I’m nuts.

Comments (32)

  • Hang in there… they do eventually grow up. They don’t move out, but they do grow up. 

  • My kids left with my first ex before they reached their teens, never saw them again. With my psychological make up, perhaps that was a good thing I’m thinking after reading this.

  • @roscoes_farm - oh, yes, that is a relief.  because adult children are sooo much more reasonable that young children.  @runisom48 - you would have been a good dad.  you got gyped. jipped.  gypped. :(

  • You are learning to allow logical and natural consequences to have an impact, now if you can remember to keep your distance from the chaos (also called sanity) while they struggle with learning responsibility  . . . . . it takes time and tons of “letting go”

  • @vexations - i was thinking in the shower (where i am quite brilliant) that this was all a play for attention.  this was the first night all week where i was home and available for family interaction.  now i just need to turn it into more positive interaction in the middle.  thank you.  i appreciate your pats.

  • Your shower brilliance is copacetic in academic circles. There is the theory that children will climb a ladder to misbehavior.  The first step is “attention getting”  If children are not given encouragement for doing appropriate behaviors they will seek more inappropriate ways to get those around them to notice them.  The other goals are power, revenge, and intentional display of inadequacy.  google “four goals of misbehavior” and you will probably get a nice description of these.  As a parent to four, two boys and two girls, I found these most useful.

  • I never said that I wonder why you’re nuts.  Stop making stuff up. =P 
    There are separate remotes for tivo and for normal TV?  Isn’t tivo just recorded TV?  I don’t even know.

  • I imagine you are quite right about them just wanting your attention.  Sometimes disobedience is basically revenge for someone not having been there.  It’s like, You didn’t do what I wanted; why should I do what you want?   I did that, as an adolescent, and didn’t realize it for a long time.

  • Also sometimes I would refuse to do something, just to make the statement that I was my own person.  I always knew I was going to do it anyway, I just felt the need to say No.

  • a drum? a drum….. in the middle of this you suggest a drum? 

  • *sigh* the joys of motherhood ^-^ last night was “fight” dinner night, Zara kicked Pedro while passing by Pedro went mad and throw a tablespoon at her I went mad and made them both go to their rooms without dinner D: maybe it is the moon.

    My Pedro uses your Spawn same seeking strategy, I bet he only does that to make me lose my temper LOL

  • when i was very young 1-2yrs someone gave me a drum. my mom, the source of my ‘life’ wisdom, gave me a hammer. 

  • No need to wonder.  Children do that to you.  I’m still waiting for the stage when my children realize that I was brilliant all along! 

  • Sounds like my house.  This is why I knit. No one comes near the lady with the sharp poky sticks.

  • I’m the dad of two girls…I NEVER wondered why you’re nuts…I’m just glad you are!!

    Cute post. Hang in there!

  • @vexations - wrote that down in my journal for when i have the ability to read.  #2 has some issues with feeling inadequate.  mighty curious what i’ll find out about that. @lanney -  LLO used to argue when she was going to eventually do it anyhow.  she’s gotten a great deal more stubborn in the past few years.  Spawn is just incomprehensible.  @onestepcloserto_perfection - i have no idea.  i don’t know how we turn the tv on anymore.  @songoftheheart -  spawn has told me several times this year that i was right about something.  it was glorious.  (short-lived, but glorious)  

  • @longshadow618 - what’s a little more noise?  and noise then seemed better than the 5 hours of temper and crying the night before when she didn’t have enough practice time for her lesson.  I’m looking ahead to an easier week next week.  a hammer.  good choice for you. @xXxlovelylollipop - the #1 kid always seems to know just which buttons to push.  but she is soooo much easier to deal with than she used to be that i’m just relieved.  LLO has taken the gauntlet so i’m not bored.  thank goodness. i’d hate to have a boring life.  @spinner_mom - crochet needle not quite dangerous enough apparently.  maybe i’ll try knitting again.  @Bricker59 - hanging.  thank goodness there are moments of joy in the midst of all this freaking drama.

  • @promisesunshine - LOL it’s gonna take me forever to get there (the blissfully boring life) as Zara just turned 6 :P

  • @xXxlovelylollipop - but you are young and flexible.  i’ll be 50 when the little one turns 15 (god help me)

  • sometimes I’m glad I don’t have kids

  • the remote will be in the last place you look.  

    ah yes…family life.  i miss it so much.    NOT!!!   lol

  • @buddy71 - your llamas don’t argue with you?

  • @promisesunshine - nope.  they KNOW who is boss. besides. if they get me mad, who would feed them?  lol

  • @buddy71 - we know who is boss at my house too, which might be part of the reason that i DON’T feed them.  

  • @promisesunshine - hahahaha…  but yours can get food for themselves. mine cant.  lol  you are just too funny.  i like you

  • @buddy71 - and that makes me smile.  we’ll leave it at that.  

  • Oh my, this sounds terribly familiar to me. My brother is awful at finding things also. You will tell him exactly where it is, and he will stare RIGHT at it and not see it. When I worked in a liquor store this would happen all the time to people. I would tell them to hold out their hand and they would touch the bottle and oh, THERE it is. :P

    Also, in my childhood home, the remote is KING. God have mercy on the soul of anyone who dared misplace it. My father, a grown man, has been known to get seriously pissed when the television is not operational, whether it be due to lack of remote or other technical difficulties. He wouldn’t have the slightest idea what to do with himself if there was no television.

    Meanwhile, in my apartment, half the time I’ve no idea where the remote is because it’s been so long since I used it, I forgot where I put it. Seriously considering not having TV service at all when I move, that’s how little I watch it.

  • this is only an alternate reality.  you just forget about the real reality when you’re over here.  which kinda sucks.  but, it’s kinda funny, too.

    sorry.  but there it is.

  • @plantinthewindow - you wanna put that in plain speak?

  • @promisesunshine - I was being weird.  like, as if this life you are living is actually an alternate reality that you shift to.  that you’re actually living in another reality that is less stressful, but when you shift to this one, for some reason you don’t remember the other one, which sucks because you only know your stress, here, no memories or knowledge of the less stressful one where you actually live and exist.

    or, is the other one the alternate reality which your mind created as an escape from this reality where you life, which stresses you out?

    the world may never know.  but this would be a good premise for a scifi novel.

  • @plantinthewindow - or several scifi series episodes.  or a short story.  a creepy ray bradbury-esque short story.  why are there all these cool ideas out there and none of them mine.  can’t remember the last time i had an idea.  or a thought.  i’m one of those pod people.  i forget what they’re called.  sticks. or something.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories