January 28, 2012

  • #WinterSH33 eye in the sky

    In any form, explain your relationship with God.

    When I look in the sky, I feel like a microscopic piece of something beyond the scope of my vision and understanding.  Is it the universe created by a supreme being?  Maybe.  Probably.  Perhaps.  I don’t presume to know.  I know that I am a part and the universe is a gift from somewhere/someone/something.  It might as well be God.

    I know what I feel when I look into the sky, and it’s not just small.  One a clear bright day, I feel awestruck.  The bluest of the blue makes my heart feel at rest.  That no matter what, this day brings me something miraculous and fine.  On a gray day, it’s harder to feel that peace.  I fight it most of the time.  But a gray sky makes me feel like something is not quite right in the world.  Of course, there are many things not right in the world at every moment.  And sometimes a gray sky gives rain- necessary, vital, refreshing, enriching, sometimes irritating, sometimes like the tears I cry, but a part of existence that cannot be avoided, nor should be.  A white sky full of snow has its own images: snow day, blazing fireplace, loud children outside, snowballs, snowman, snowflakes on eyelashes, cozy mittens, shoveling- hard work, but satisfying.  Aside from clear blue, my favorite is probably thunderstorm.  I love the violence, noise, light of a wild storm (if I’m inside staring out the window.)  Is it the gods bowling?  Probably not.  Is it God sending a message?  Again, I don’t know.  But I like the show.

    Is God watching me?  I have no idea.  I personally think he’d have more important things to do.  Do I make my choices based on what he might see if he happened to look at that moment?  I’d like to think not.  I think I choose to be how I am (when I’m choosing and not just being) because it’s the kind of person I am.  I mess up, often.  My punishment comes from within.  God doesn’t put me in a time out.  Maybe, like the parent I try to be, he made it so I learned right from wrong and no longer need to be watched closely. 

    So here I am, living on this earth that was probably made by an omniscient celestial being, screwing up as much as the next person, in my quest to be as good as I can be.  And that is that.

    Warning:  I have some spewing to do to finish the winter scavenger hunt.  :)

Comments (12)

  • I love that you see so much in the sky, that you are connected to the nature around and above you.

  • @songoftheheart - when i’m paying attention.  ;)

  • Ah yes, pay attention . . .  I like that.  Screwing up (oh and pardon but also screwing) means we are human.  I have some sky and a poem (that you might recognize on my post today.  Do enjoy your day and keep paying attention.  I try to do something called contemplative prayer in which I am silent for 20 mins. I guess I am mostly listening in case God wants to say something to me or others at that time.  PS I posted those before I read you site today.

  • @vexations - still learning to sit still.  i’m not good at it.  speaking of screwing and poems… oh, wait, separate.  ;)  
    going to check out the sky.  and such.

  • you my beauty have been gifted with all the chances to learn, break the rules, make all the mistakes, think of it as an accelerated learning program. you are in a way doing it for all of us. it is a big universe. in the tao the ‘te’ in ‘tao te ching’ means the little thing. it is the most influential aspect of the tao. seek your smallness,and youll know your greatness. 

  • We both wrote about God today.

  • @runisom48 - yes, yours was better all around.  especially the “end”.  saturday is commando day.  just saying. 

  • Eye In The Sky was great. Haven’t heard it in ages and you brought it back. I loved that song when it came out. Now I have it on my ‘puter to listen to. Thanks.

  • @runisom48 - i was having an old cd fest this morning.  alan parsons project was one of ‘em.  good stuff.

  • I’ve been having problems seen good, of late.  maybe it’s because I’m having problems seeing good in myself, and I think that affects how I see what or whoever God is.  yet, I have no problem seeing nature as beautiful no matter what the weather.  I do have problems enjoy it when it’s cold and dreary, but I know it’s all perfect, as is.

    I think when I say “God” it’s inevitable that I put personality in there, an interpretation that I’ve learned, and when I put a personality on it, it’s ruined.  so, I don’t like to say “God”.  I like to say “all that is”, or some such. 

    right now, I’m pained, and I’m finding solace in the purity and lack of judgement in the sunshine and silence of trees and grass and plants in the field.  they don’t hate or dislike me.

    I’m talking about myself.  sorry.  your photos are beautiful, and the song is one I’ve always enjoyed.  and you have a nice way of being with God.

    j.

  • @plantinthewindow - i’m a little uncomfortable saying the big guy’s name too and putting the whole thing on him.  sunshine, trees are always nonjudgmental and they were put here for us.  one way or another.  it’s going to be ok, j.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories