December 16, 2011

  • collage

    I got quite a pick-me-up in my in-box this morning.  It’s linked to that other social networking site.  A pretty cool place.  A very cool story.

    Back when my obsession was Facebook, I found a friend from college, or she found me, I don’t remember.  Anyhow, we picked up where we left off.  She and I had a lot of fun.  We lived in the same dorm the first couple years.  We spent at least one summer at school and did the things that 21 year old girls do.  (We went out to bars and danced our pants off.)  This girl was fun, fun, fun.  We’ve both grown up some in these 20some years.  In different ways.  So I enjoy hearing about her work and her volunteer efforts and she enjoys hearing about my kids and the silly things I do.  She got engaged two springs ago and I cheered.  And craziness of all craziness, she wondered if I wanted to go to the wedding.  Keep in mind I hadn’t seen her in those 20some years and hadn’t kept in contact with her at all up until Facebook invaded my life.  So this is a ridiculous idea.  Which I fully supported.  I agreed that we’d love to come see her marry the man of her dreams- her first wedding!  And waited on the invitation.  In the meantime, I posted some photos from my daughter’s 7th grade art class and she raved about this truly awesome collage spawn had created. 

    Fast forward to November. Not last month, but last year.  Anyhow.  We went to the wedding, which was a lovely time.  Stayed in a fabulous hotel, where the bride and groom also stayed.  King size bed.  Oh, I digress.  Anyhow.  Had no clue on a gift.  This couple really has everything they need.  They’d both operated single households for a lot of years.  The only thing I could think of was the collage.  So we took it.  And they were thrilled.  Not just pretending thrilled either.

    Anyhow, a few minutes ago, I got a link and a note on Facebook with this picture.

    It is gorgeous, isn’t it?  I’m proud of spawn.  And just so tickled that my friend from long ago appreciated our gesture (I did ask the spawn, by the way), displayed it so well, and sent me the evidence on this day.

    It’s a small world.  Filled with beauty.  Love is all around.

Comments (33)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories