May 27, 2013

  • shower the people

    On Spawn and showers:
    The child is a teenager.  So she takes these epic showers.  We’re talking like 30 minutes- so you know there is no hot water left when she is done.  It’s sometimes questionable whether there will be any water in the county when she is done.  Imagine my frustration as the last showerer.  I’ve been noticing recently that the water pressure, by the time I get to it, is pretty pathetic.  And it’s aggravating because I figured it meant that something annoying and expensive was happening.  Anyhow I suppose it was Friday, I go to get my beloved shower.  As usual I turned on the water, pulled the little bath to shower hickey, and wait for the blessed intervention of hot water into my morning. No water.  I figured I made a mistake. Anything is possible early on a Friday morning with lower than the usual caffeine blood content.  Anyhow. So I turned off the water and tried again.  There was water down there.   There was no water up there.  I kept looking to be sure.  Down. Up.  Definitely water. Definitely not water.  I panicked.  What else could I do?  Spouseman came to the rescue.  And turned the switch I didn’t know existed that makes the water stop and go.  Up there on the shower head.  All kinds of stuff I didn’t know.  Because Spawn turned down the pressure with that shower head stuff to conserve water.  Some (like me) might suggest she take shorter showers.  But no, she turns the pressure down.  So I’m getting drip drip showers for days because she’s saving the Earth.  And I would have never known if she hadn’t completely turned it off.  There was water down there.  There wasn’t water up there.  It was a disturbing situation.  You have no idea.  I haven’t recovered yet.  I may never recover.  Until she moves out and quits screwing with the shower nozzle. 

    Here’s the JT you were looking for.

    And the latest experiment with acrylics.

    Yes. The hand is green.  Yes, it has eyeballs.  I’ve been notified.  It is fully open to your interpretation.  But I have to say that I wasn’t thinking of aliens zapping rays. I’m still not sure if it’s done.  But I think it might be. ?

    I’m a little bummed that this long weekend is over.  I had a lot more of nothing to do.

Comments (36)

  • Haha! I love that she is saving water – or just making the hot water last longer. I swore that the next house we bought would have a little plumbing intervention. Namely I was going to pay for a plumber to come in and install a shutoff valve for the bathroom in a locked box (like an electrical box) so that there could be a 2 minute warning and then ZAP! no water! hehe! To conserve water and to make sure the parental units had some hot left for their showers!  There is still time for you to do it!!

  • Well, theoretically that was a nice thing that she did. Might have been nicer if she’d informed you she was intentionally sabotaging the water pressure, but maybe she assumed, since you’re an adult/parental unit that you’d know how the shower worked.

    One of my cousins is constantly arguing with her mother over (among other things) the fact that she takes “long” showers. My aunt actually apparently has a timer and times them. My brother takes approximately 4 minute showers. Maybe. Most of the time he doesn’t wash his hair; it’s barely wet. Then again, he has less hair than the rest of us.

  • Saving the earth huh.. sounds like my kind of girl. Painting is interesting in a good way, especially with the way my feeble mind works

  • Part II of the Saving-Water Saga is- TA DA!- not using the water as long.  If she has long hair, that needs to be washed, rinsed and repeated, that will take more, naturally.  Lacking that issue, each person could completely scrub themselves in ten minutes, or less.  At least that’s what we found to be true when there were three of us showering, in Phoenix, in the summer.

  • lots of energy in that painting, my dear. good energy. i would love to hear your thoughts on the eyes on the fingers. good job on the hands, btw. 

    that is some sweet JT right there. thank you. oxooo

  • Well, now you know and knowing is half the battle. The only time I take a hot shower is after a dirty day at the ole warehouse. The amount of dust/dirt on the boxes… I may start wearing a face mask. I really DO NOT want to go to work tomorrow.

  • @RighteousBruin - she explained how she turns it off for the very reason you explained.
    @armnatmom - she is good about saving the earth in theory.  ha.
    @leaflesstree - logical assumption.  but i don’t pay attention to those things that i take for granted.  like shower nozzles.
    @murisopsis - so many other interventions with a higher priority. 
    @Bels_Kaylar - when i looked at my hands i saw eyeballs in those knuckles for one thing.  but it makes sense even for what i was thinking. the hurting hand and the helping hand.  the helping hand must see the pain in order to help. LLO asked if the helping was nature.  i think that kinda works too. the hands were troublesome. the one is too long now. before it was too something else.  JT knows how to do it. thank you for your input.  

  • Smart kid, I never thought of that. Take my shower, ash body parts, wash my hair, rinse, repeat, condition, then I enjoy the hot water just running down my body. Thirty minutes later dad freaks out. 

    The painting is awesome, maybe the spawn and yourself?

  • @Zoz36 - knowing is all the battle in this case.  well, except that i wasn’t paying attention to how to work the gizmos.  i don’t want to go to work either.  but i have nothing to whine about. 
    @Emptipages - could be.

  • One of the things I love in this apt is that we have a new water and plenty of hot water even with dishwasher use sometimes a couple times a day.
    I like the hand with the eye balls and no real interpretation.  I just like it.
    Not much going on here for the week end either.  The weather was awful and raining so hard it has been raining side ways.
    I seriously need sunshine and some freedom with  my camera to just go wander in the woods.

  • I really, really, really hate mornings. But I get up five minutes before the kids and have the first shower!! Actually, my kids are 4 and 1, they have a bath the night before or a shower with me in the morning. Nevermind.

  • bwhahaha…great post, c.

  • @complicatedlight - thanks, p
    @trivial_lover - just you wait.
    @Grannys_Place - we had more than our fair share of sun today.  i hope you get some.

  • This reminds me of when I was living in my dorm. Some organization at school was doing some type of survey about how long do people take shower. All of the showers in the dorms had those hourglass that you could use to find out how long your shower lasts. Of course most of us didn’t really seem to care about it. She would probably enjoy that if she were a student at my school, or maybe not. 

    P.S. Loved the paintings!

  • Wet or dry you will survive. 

  • Teenagers!  LOL

  • hey Michelangelo, that bath to shower hickey is called a mixer but I don’t know about the pressure button. your painting reminds me of the “creation of adam”. I’m bummed the weekend is over too =/

  • Heaven help my boy if/when he figures out how to adjust the shower.  I like my showers with enough force to peel flesh from bone.

  • It looks done, but it might need a sequel. It’s freakin beautiful, btw. About the coolest damn thing I ever seen.

    Not knowing that something does something sounds like something I would something. :D

  • lol I’m glad here, teenager is a boy right now :O if you can find any consolation in your peers pain, I had to get up today at 4 am cuz Zara has full makeup/dress rehersal at 7 am and needed to iron her hair to full straight hair D: have you seen her hair, it was horrible and we were late and I felt like crying but I’m glad I drop her at school and won’t hear a word by either of them in a few more hours…

    Idk how your schedule is but I have quited the effort of showering in the mornings cuz Zara’s hair and Pedro’s breakfast take too much time, I shower whenever I can *sigh*
    Great painting, as always I love love love your use of colors, your paintings always feel so happy to me :D

  • @meddwl - how on earth did you completely straighten that girl’s hair?  oh my golly. 
    i must have shower. i’m just lucky that the younger one still prefers the occasionally bath. (once a week whether she stinks or not)
    @distractedbyzombies - freakin thank you.  i’m torn between a and doing the happy dance. 
    @chronic_masticator - exactly the way a shower should be.
    @mlbncsga - mixer. huh.  who knew.  ooh. cool connection.
    @olwd - can’t live with them, can’t feed ‘em. i was going to say something else.
    @vexations - odds are good.

  • @promisesunshine - :,( tears of blood were shed today :P lol jk

    Zara is used to this, she is determined to be a dancer and she’s never whinney or difficult about it, so after shower I put a detangler and straightener gel/cream stuff on her hair and blow it dry, pulling hard to straighten it (by force) as much as possible, after that, I iron it layer by layer till it’s perfectly smooth… 45 minutes process plus makeup.
    It sounds like a terrible torture, I know *sigh*

  • @meddwl - can’t imagine.  we had to remove bangs from the scene and that was torture enough. then again, someone had to fix what i did anyhow.  

  • @promisesunshine – *giggles* I wonder what that was going to be??

  • @olwd - lucky for us both, i have slept since then (not really) and don’t remember.

  • Even though she is trying to conserve the water, she is obviously using a lot of the hot water if you are not getting enough hot water for your shower. May be you should take your shower first, then the rest of the family and finally your teenage daughter. Just do it one time.

  • Sometimes when I am beat I take long long long showers. I will sit in the shower with my head on my arms folded on my knees and fall asleep. I wake up when the water temperature begins to drop. I know then that it is time to get out.

  • @Aloysius_son - that’s really the problem here. i like long, hot, powerful showers too. wimpy ones are so disappointing.

  • Daughters are the best! I love hearing about yours! You will miss her when she moves out and on in life!
    I loves James Taylor!
    Your painting is so cool! GREAT work!
    HUGS!!!
    PS…I had a great long weekend and then a busy good week! Just now settling down some!

  • @adamswomanback - of course i will miss her.  i’ll make her come home just to use up all the water. :)   so glad you had a good week. and now it’s the weekend.  have fun!

  • @promisesunshine - The good part is when they get their own apt. or house…you get to go there and use their water, eat their food, watch their TV, mess up their living room, etc. It’s fun!!! HUGS!!!

  • sounds like retribution to me.  :D

  • HUGS during this tough-sad-Xanga-time!
    You are loved!!! It will all be okay!!!

    BTW: Has anyone stuck their tongue out at you today?!
    Okay. Then I will!

    MORE HUGS!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *