February 5, 2013

  • training wheels

    @vexations posted a bicycle story this morning that inspired me to take a trip down memory lane. 

    Training wheels are standard equipment on kids’ bikes. My younger daughter, LLO, a little stubborn shall we say, wasn’t all that excited to ride a bike to begin with and wouldn’t try without the bonus wheels. I watched her as she rode. Saw how dependence on the training wheels trained her to lean to the left. Saw how turns were taken at weird angles. It was probably one of those turns that caused the training wheels to break off. She needed a bigger bike anyhow. She was somewhere around 10 (I did mention that she was stubborn?) and getting too tall for the little bike. It was certainly in her mind and our ears that she wanted a new bike with training wheels. If we’d been inclined to put training wheels on her new bike, which we weren’t, the bigger sizes didn’t have them anyhow. So the new bike sat in the garage for at least an entire summer. Then a neighbor girl rode her bike to our house to play with my girl. Within a week, LLO had figured out exactly how to ride the bike.

    A little reminiscing.  I found this in my computer.  It makes me smile.  LLO (who you will discover is actually named Katie) in all her cuteness of several years ago, riding a bike and picking a wedgie.  The redhead is the neighbor up the street who inspired the learning.  The incredibly loud voice at the end (I warned you!) is Spawn, who was manning the camera. 

    HERE

    In other wheels news.  Spawn turned 16 a few weeks ago.  No progress whatsoever on the driver’s permit.  But she did express an interest in contact lenses which I have tied in with driving.  So I’m certain that I will never hear mention of contact lenses again.  It’s all good.

Comments (13)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *