February 4, 2013

  • get off my cape

    hold my hand and we can fly together
    otherwise, get off my cape.

    This is my new motto.  Last week I had a whole collection of people trying to bring me down, which I permitted.  Stupidly.  I hope I’m smarter next time.  I wouldn’t count on it.  But I do have the motto now. 

    Now I shall regale you with exciting adventures- in sewing.  :)   Two weekends ago, LLO, Spawn and Spouseman went to this comic book thing.  They are really into manga and anime and that kind of stuff.  Anyhow. Spawn designed a costume.  It was pretty cool, in fact.  I don’t have the photo. I was too busy wondering why the heck I was awake at 7:30 on a Saturday morning to think about the camera.  In any case, she needed a cape.  Which I made.  It was pretty awesome sauce if I say so myself. And she needed a long skirt turned into a short pleated skirt.  LLO needed ears and a tail.  I was rocking awesome mom for a couple days with these contributions.  I was also pretty happy mom too because the people were gone most of the weekend.  It was lovely and quiet.  What else.  Oh, a friend’s brother got married on Saturday.  She needed her dress altered, which I finished a whopping two days before the wedding.  Her mom’s dress needed all kinds of stuff, including a lining in the skirt- which was way more difficult than it should have been- and hemming and what have you.  And that was finalized about 12 hours before they left to get down to the wedding location.  Thank goodness these people know me well or they might have been panicking a bit.  As it was, they didn’t let me know they were panicking, if they were.  Let’s see. Before Christmas I ran into a guy who’s the SO of the mom of some girls my girls used to go to school with.  They don’t hang anymore.  Which is fine. Knew them when Spawn was in Girl Scouts, which was hell.  Not that these people are- they are quite nice.  But anyhow.  The guy has a something business doing something.  Oh, graphic design.  He needed a bag for these panels.  I had no idea what he was talking about at the time.  But now I’ve made a really super cool quilted bag with pockets for these printed woodenish panel things.  And I am just impressed with my own self for figuring out just how to do that.  Please pay me now.  And Saturday I went over to the nice old man’s house.  Spouseman came with me because I made him.  Anyhow, the purpose of this was kinda groovy. My church does this auction thing and many, many years ago, when I was sewing for some decorators, I submitted an item giving away sewing service.  I never heard a thing about it, except that someone I was working for at the time said she had intended to bid for it but she went home sick.  So I assumed that I wasn’t bought and put it out of my mind.  Well, this man’s wife, who just recently passed away, bought it and he discovered the paper for it in her papers as he cleaned up her affairs.  He was getting some blinds put in and wanted to repurpose the drapes.  So I was picking up the drapes.  They are actually kinda disgustingly dusty and such, but I’m not working on them today so I don’t care.  Anyhow.  Spouseman somehow offered to take down the hardware, which I thought was very kind of him.  I was quite pleased with him.  So I have these things in my basement awaiting my joyful repurposing.  Last night I replaced a zipper in my kid’s fencing jacket, fixed a zipper in a pair of pants, and replaced elastic in a skirt I made almost 20 years ago.  Apparently elastic doesn’t last forever.  Should have replaced the elastic in the neckline of the top too, but safety pins can be handy too. 

    The kids at school really liked my old outfit.  (As do I, but I don’t wear it much.) I thought it was very appropriate for our day (if not current fashion. ha ha.)  We made butter and colored paper quilts.  We all enjoyed the butter on bread with my (to die for sugar bomb) preserves.  I took in the quilt I made for Spawn when she was little.  The kids thought that was pretty awesome.  And the teacher brought in the baby quilt the class and I made for her when her littlest was born.  Two of the kids in the current class had older siblings who helped make the quilt.  It was very cool to see how special the quilt is to her and to see how much the kids enjoyed seeing the quilts.  And they really liked the jam too.  Pretty fun day for a Monday.

    You can see it ain’t all that.  But it was the first one I did and it was well used, once upon a time.

    Fascinating.

Comments (25)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *