January 26, 2013

  • rye

    I did it.  I finally read “The Catcher in the Rye.”  You know it’s a classic.  Famous and stuff.  On my list of books I need to read.  So.  I can check it off.  I have to tell you though, the last couple chapters I really didn’t care what he was trying to catch and where.  I really didn’t.  That’s a joke there, by the way.

    I dunno.  Am I unsympathetic to a poor little rich kid who doesn’t care about anything?  Sure, he had the bad luck of being the 3rd kid of 4.  The youngest being the only girl and bright and adorable.  And the eldest wildly talented and successful.  And the most perfect of all who had the nerve to die for some reason.  So Holden is without direction.  Possibly because, at 16, he smokes and drinks like a fiend. (I think that’s a joke too.)

    Am I unsympathetic because I am the most boring person in the universe?  Honestly, a wild time to me is wearing jammies all day long or going to work without brushing my hair.  Am I jealous that this little twit gallivanted all over New York city going to bars and hotels and calling people in the wee hours? 

    One thing I did find some value in was a quote presented by Holden’s former teacher (who may have been thinking about molesting him- Holden certainly thought so).  “The mark of the immature man is that he wants to die nobly for a cause, while the mark of the mature man is that he wants to live humbly for one.”  Wilhelm Stekel.

    Just so you know… I have lost my mind.  I just googled “rye sense of humor.” The dangers of homonyms.

    Also, just found out that the youngest member of the household likes reubens/ ruebens.  (rubens?)  Miss Picky doesn’t like anything, so we don’t count her.  In any case, I need rye bread.  And sauerkraut. Etc.

    (day #6)

Comments (26)

  • Oh, dear. Would you believe at another site I did a post on sandwiches? I shall confess to you now, PS, that my favourite is liverwurst and onion on toasted pumpernickel rye. I have not read this book. It’s implausible, really, given my fondness for rye and all ….

  • Catcher in the Rye is a book (not unlike Lord of the Flies) which resonates only if you read it at the exact perfect time in your own life. There are others like that.

  • @Kellsbella - i would read your sandwich post.  liverwurst and onions?  oh my gosh.  i’m sorry to say i wouldn’t even attempt to eat that.  takes every kind of people.

  • love pumpernickel rye. the only thing i remember about “catcher in the rye” was holden wondering where do the ducks go in winter, or something like that? i think i missed the point of the whole thing. MUST reread. maybe in a couple more years, lol.

  • @be_the_rain - good point.  he did ask random people about the ducks.  perhaps that is significant.
    @ordinarybutloud - well, clearly i didn’t read it at the right time.  there are plenty of books that i have read at the right time and that is an exceptional event. perhaps this tells me that i should not read something just to say i have read it.  actually, i know that is true.  since i’m having such an issue with obligations at this time.  i won’t add Lord of the Flies to my list.  ;)

  • I read this, I think in high school. I know it’s supposed to be one of those books that changes your perspective on literature and makes you feel amazing or something, but I don’t think it did that for me. I don’t really remember the plot, other than crazy weird kid complaining for pages on pages. I’d think about rereading it to see if it sinks in this time, but I have some many more books I would want to read. I did read Lord of the Flies, it was even more nonsensical although I do recall the plot. You know what classic I have never read? Great Gatsby. Is that worth it?

    I think Mark Twain said that a classic is something everyone wants to have read but nobody wants to actually read.

  • I have never felt the need to read that book.

    Reubens.

  • maybe next time i read it again, i’m gonna count how many “to tell you the truth” s

  • @f5ye_angel5 - aha!  isn’t “to tell you the truth” the sign of a lie?  so he’s pretending all of this ennui.
    @plantinthewindow - it was there.also, i’m doing penance (apparently) for the disturbing amount of trash I have read.
    @leaflesstree - well. Holden Caulfield like Great Gatsby.  It must be worth reading.  snort. i do not think that i have read it.  let me tell you the worst classic.  Moby Dick.  that was the only book i actually read only the cliff’s notes for in all of my english classes.
    also, wouldn’t you call mark twain’s books classics now?  so he took care of that problem. 

  • If I ever read that book in school, I don’t remember it.  I have to confess that I have not read a lot of the “classics”.

  • I like Reubans too, with extra swiss. But I’ve not read that book before.

  • @armnatmom - reubens are better than the book.  ;)

  • When I read the first line of your post, I thought — I haven’t read that book, maybe I should.  Then as I read on, and in your comments, I realized that in fact I have read it.  I guess it made so little impression on me that I forgot.

  • @lilies_of_snow - i can’t believe that i keep thinking about it!!  it’s annoying.

  • @promisesunshine -  Heh.  You’ll get over it, I’m sure.  You’ll file it away in the folder of your brain that is dedicated to things you don’t need to think about anymore :)

  • @lilies_of_snow - well, admittedly, it’s less irritating that the stuff i’m storing it on top of.

  • I have read that book…. about the time when my children were in school and had to read it. None of us  cared for it. Pffftt! Yeah I guess it’s a  classic.

  • heh. well, now i want to re-read it. if i ever did read it.  on more important matters, if you ever find a loaf of wry bread, i want it ;)   oxo

  • @Bels_Kaylar - tee hee.  wry bread.  would that be sourdough?
    @ZSA_MD - must be called a classic so somebody has to read it.

  • Yum. Rye bread and pastrami, the best. I can’t really put anything else on rye bread. I haven’t read that book yet, but it’s on my long list.

  • I read “Catcher in the Rye” in high school (many, many years ago). I remember I did not find it particularly memorable. “Classics” that I enjoyed often involved overcoming rather than whining. I read “Gone with the Wind” when I was 12 and loved it. I also liked family sagas such as “My Antonia” by Willa Cather and John Steinbeck’s “Grapes of Wrath.” Now, I tend to prefer cozy mysteries that are light on violence.

  • @ElaineWestheimer - i also read “gone with the wind” in middle school.  and i liked “my antonia” as well.  and i’ve read james michener and umberto eco and thomas costain.  so i have staying power!!  but, this one. blah.  perhaps steinbeck is where i should next voyage in my classics quest.  and i decided last jan i was going to read the “count of monte cristo”.
    @lorelei - move it to the bottom.  rye bread is the best.  even delivers pb just fine.

  • I must have read this in high school, but apparently it had no impact  on me, for I don’t remember it. And I love your deliciously rye/wry sense of humor.

  • I’m the only one at my house that doesn’t like the rueben. Mostly because I loathe sauerkraut… Anyway I read Catcher in the Rye but unlike every XY that has ever read it I didn’t connect with the main character. The popularity of that book is driven by male fantasy. (steps off soapbox).

  • @murisopsis - perhaps you are right.  the poor, misunderstood male.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *