January 25, 2013

  • sisters

    I think it’s probably pretty clear that we have some dramatic moments in my land.  Today was certainly a day ending in “y”, so there was drama.  Building for hours.  Until Spawn was crying her eyes out and I was feeling guilty (because everything is my fault) and showing it by being angry (because everything is my fault.)  But then I went into Spawn’s room and there was LLO, talking to her sister.  Probably hugging her sister.  Being a sister.  And making it all better.  And it was beautiful.

    Then I crawled into LLO’s bed because there’s no place to sit in Spawn’s room except the floor and I’m not about to sit on the floor anymore this week, thank you very much.  Next thing I knew, Spawn and LLO were on either side of me and we had a lovefest as they tried to make me feel better.  (Since by this point, my face had sprung a leak.  Too much week. And too much week.)  And suddenly LLO is singing “Lean on Me” to me.  Then she told me about how she was able to make her sister feel better and how earlier this week the sister had made her feel better and we talked about how lucky they are to have each other and maybe how unfortunate it is that I don’t have a sister and I have to agree on that score. 

    In spite of all the fighting (and there is plenty), there is really nothing better than a sister.

    On a side note, I may not have a real sister, but I have heart sisters.  And I love them.

    Tomorrow my girls may fight the whole day (which I don’t have to experience since they are going on an outing with their daddy- thank goodness) but when it comes down to it, I know that they have each others’ backs.

    On another side note, I got a lump in my throat when the Doctor dropped off Miss Smith.  Just seems terribly wrong.

    [Day 5.  With 22 minutes to spare. :) ]

Comments (9)

  • I have to sisters they are both older both were out of the house by the time I was 8 so they are both aorta like extra moms and bossy to boot…but like you I have sister of the heart that I really enjoy

  • That is a sweet story. I have a sister but we are so far apart in age and rarely see each other. Maybe we had moments like that when I was little but I don’t remember it. I had way more huggy moments with my brother. And also fighting moments. Ah, siblings. :)

    Heart sisters, I like that. I think I’ve had a few of those.

  • I don’t have a sibling sister either. ((((((HUGS))))))

  • I had a brother 12 years older than me who treated me wonderful while I treated him like crap. He really loved me. He had a falling out, but six months before he died, he came by my house unexpectedly and apologized asking for my forgiveness, which I gave.  I gave part of the eulogy at his funeral and read from his favorite Psalm about the sea–107.

    Sisters are great. Brothers are great. My wife learned that aunts are great.
    Happy for you.
    frank

  • oxo the love fest is the coolest thing i have heard all week, (in public ;) . and indeed, you have sisters, here and elsewhere, <3   i suspect. as i constantly forget to say to myself, we are blessed.  ok, SuperHero’ess’s…to Infinity and Beyond!!! ;)  

  • Doctor? Miss Smith? Does this relate to Downton Abbey or something?

    Wonderful moment, Ms C. You have raised two daughters with inner and outer resources. Kudos to you.

  • Great that they have a spot for each other. Growing up with 2 younger sisters there was always some drama (3 makes for terrible fights and 2 vs 1 alliances). Anyway we are good now. Growing up the credo was don’t beat up my sister – I’m the only one allowed to do that… hehe!

  • How good that the girls so relate to each other, and have such beautiful and tender moments. You did good Carrie. Have a great day when the rest of the crew is out of the house. Ahhhh! Silence and peace!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *