June 7, 2013

  • whining

    I have had enough of this day.

    I don’t like the end of school.  It frazzles me.  I don’t like people leaving me.  I don’t like finishing projects that I’ve put off. I don’t like cleaning up with any children, let alone the 1st grade crowd.  First graders (frankly, any child) love spray bottles.  They will spray until the cleaning solution is gone.  I nearly choked and died with the fumes today.  First graders get all excited and don’t follow directions so you have to repeat things. Once or twice. Or a million times. First graders suck at filing.  They think it makes sense to put papers all over the floor willy nilly and slip and fall on them.  Cleaning and organizing with first graders (frankly, any child) basically means that you have 100 times the noise and it will take 3 times as long to accomplish what needs to happen.  Of course the real problem is that I’m going to miss them.

    I just talked to my mother.  She had shoulder surgery this week and I haven’t been able to see her because I got another freaking summer cold. I was worried about this surgery because she had the other shoulder done last March and very soon afterwards had a mini stroke.  I have it stuck in my mind that the anesthesia is the cause of the stroke.  Don’t spew facts at me, I won’t listen.  I was doubly worried because in one of her x-rays or something before the surgery some doctor of hers claimed there was a spot on her lung.  Well, apparently the doctor looked at it again and now says there’s no spot.  I want to wring that doctor’s neck.  Because maybe you ought to have looked twice or thrice or a bazillion times before you scared the shit out of us.  How can doctors not know what their words do.  I could make a whole long kvetch about dumb shit doctors have said that maybe they should have thought again about saying.  But it looks like I won’t.  Today anyhow.

    LLO has already had the conversation with her sister moaning about how Spawn is so much better than her at _____.  Fill in blank with every thing under the sun.  Frankly my eyes just roll out of my head and down the street.  Because I have to wonder why we need to go there.  Again. 

    And now Spawn is pissed at me. In the space of 7 hours she has discussed dropping out of two commitments that she voluntarily committed herself to.  Big ones.  Ones that don’t surprise me.  Her excuses would pass muster perhaps with someone with a less finely tuned bullshitometer. However, this mother is keenly aware of the main motivation for ditching stuff that takes effort and time.  And it’s not going to fly.  I don’t care if she goes through her retaliatory litany of my flaws as mother, family member, human bean. Yea, whatevs, baby.

    On the flip side. I got a Tootsie Pop at lunch.  Spawn and I went on a mother/daughter voyage (before our unpleasant conversation) that included an errand I didn’t want to do and some laughing. LLO got an award at school for good grades and being just super.  She was pleased.  For a minute or two.  Hmm. Can’t seem to think of any others.  The coffee was fresh. It’s Friday. I have a bag of Twizzlers.

    Crap. Just remembered I have another errand for today. 

Comments (37)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *