January 11, 2013

  • emerald slippers

    #winsh

    11. Sew an accessory or garment. 8 pts

    Another project from my stash of felted wool with a penny rug-ish kinda deal to it.  While I made these bad boys I watched the BBC version of “Pride and Prejudice” (yes, the 6 hour one), a rather interesting Johnny Depp flick “Dead Man”, and several episodes of Dr. Who.  An eclectic assortment of viewing pleasure, if I say so myself.

    For bonus points, I have attempted to incorporate  winsh 28. Create a piece in which your state flower is thematically central. 4 pts.  That would be Mountain Laurel, the state flower of Pennsylvania. Because I say it is.  See?  Mountain Laurel grows pretty wild and free in the mountains near where I live.  It’s quite beautiful in the spring and early summer.  It has the same kind of leaves as a rhododendron.

    Finally going to celebrate Christmas with my p’s this weekend.  Good thing we waited until now, because these slippers are my mother’s gift.  LLO asked me if I’d make her a pair.  I can’t feel my fingers.  She’s going to have to wait a little while.  She wants purple.  Of course.

    I read Hitchhiker’s Guide for the first time.  Laughed myself silly.  And I have reacquainted myself with the reasons I used to like reading Stephen King.  Unfortunately the book is a freaking doorstop.  I prefer my books a little more portable.

    Okey dokey. That’s my life in a nutshell.

Comments (47)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *