June 29, 2012
-
good stuff
Welcome to the land of no melodrama and thinking. Wahoo. That stuff is dangerous.
Here’s what’s good:
I had art camp this week and it was fun. Only had four little dearies this week and they were sweet and adorable. We painted (which you know I love) and tie dyed and did paper mache (which no one complained about) and got awfully messy. LLO came with me four of the five days. She’s grown up a lot since last year. I bring her along so she and the sister don’t kill each other, and I’m pretty thrilled if I don’t just want to throw her out the window after 3 hours. I didn’t have that inclination at all this week. Well, much. So, hooray. When I complain about going to work in the summer, you really shouldn’t pay much attention to me. Because my summer job is a blast. (Truthfully, my regular job is pretty great as well.)
I went through a lot of girl drama this week. (We specialize in drama here, but this was heavy duty drama.) However, we also saw Brave, which is a wonderful mother/daughter movie, and made an epic scene. It was adorable. Holding hands and crying our eyesies out. (Spawn was a little more reserved, but still a part of the emotion-fest.) And we had heart-to-heart conversation. And there was staring deeply into each other’s eyes. You may throw up a little bit now.
My girls are pretty special and they like me pretty much too. Who can beat that? So when I complain about my girls, you really shouldn’t pay much attention to me. Because my daughters are awesome possum.Incidentally, that Talking Heads song is in Brave. I had to giggle a little bit, because it’s just not the same after the ukelele orchestra. Even more amusing than Lobster Killer in Julie and Julia.
I’m starting a kinda new adventure on Monday. Nervous a little, but mostly excited.
We’re going somewhere fun tomorrow too. After we put in our (gag) housework time. I’ll get to put my toes in sand and read and maybe get in the canoe if I feel like it.
While I was at Barnes and Noble feeding two of my summer obsessions, I stopped at the flower farm stand to get another hibiscus. ‘Cause I like ‘em. I may go plant it now. It was too freaking hot when I got home with it.

Iced coffee. Good stuff.
In summation: life is good. In fact it’s
Comments (34)
Girl talk. So what happens on Monday? Guess I’ll check out Brave if it is on Netflix….
@vexations - brave just came out in the theaters. it’ll be a while. are you back? monday is summer reading camp. the big thing for grad school. and when i’m done with that, i’m nearly done. it’s a big deal.
lots of this
and this
from this post.
I’ve heard good things about Brave. Pretty flower. It’s too damn hot to move here. I’m just staying inside in the AC, thank you very much.
@buddy71 - you are so sweet. i had to make up for all my belly-aching earlier this week.
brave was wonderful. and i wasn’t thrilled to be going.
@leaflesstree - we have one room with an air conditioner. and i’m in it.
@promisesunshine – Oh my, what a challenge to my lifestyle of “no beg deals” but I think positive big deals are okay. Oh forgot. Yes I am back in Tennessee and it is hot as Hades here. 81 on Mt. LeConte which is an all time high for any day ever.
@vexations - we are in different places in our lives. but it’s definitely a positive big deal. way, way better than sitting in class trying to look intelligent. i can do this.
@vexations - yea. we got hot. steamy even.
Art camp sounds awesome.
Suddenly realized that Tiny will want to talk about *gag emotions with me one day (which I’m totally lame at – I score real high on “Are you Aspergers” tests. Maybe her father will do better with that… or she’ll have useful friends or something.
I hope the new adventure goes well. My browser blocked your thing @ the bottom, but the flower is lovely. I’m a hibiscus fan as well.
@promisesunshine - same here. have only departed long enough to get into the air conditioned car.
@oceanstarr - you have time until you have to worry about girl talk.
it’ll be fine. it’s actually pretty hard to screw it up. listen and nod.
no worries on the block. it was just a B 52′s song.
I’ve heard good and bad about that movie. Most everything is good although I read somewhere that one of the news agencies said it was a movie that promoted lesbianism.
@godfatherofgreenbay - oh for crying out loud. that is utter bullshit. two possibilities for that opinion (aside from the obvious that the person in the news agency hadn’t watched it): she becomes very close to her mother at the end- you know actually wants to spend time with her doing things- OR the crazy idea that she doesn’t want to marry one of those doofus princes. (after all, if you don’t want to marry a prince, you must be a lesbian)
@promisesunshine - I can totally do “smile and nod” lol… and when she’s old enough I’ll share my whiskey I reckon lol
@oceanstarr - she’ll have been taught at school that whiskey is evil. so you won’t have to share.
I loved reading about art camp. I think anything with kids is fun. My wife and i have had involvement with kids on most of our moves.
Wishing you the best this weekend,
frank
@ANVRSADDAY - i do kids pretty well. most of the time, i like kids better than grown-ups. i’ve also been told that i’m not really a grown-up, so that could be why. thanks, frank. you have a wonderful weekend too
carrie
@promisesunshine - If all goes well, we’ll home school… It’ll be interesting to see if she wants to do Family Tattoo Day like my side of the family or stay blank like her father. It’s her call on both counts anyway.
But yeah – home school is pretty important to us. And sharing the liquor is a good thing methinks (when the time is right of course).
@oceanstarr - i’m not even a little surprised. i’m sure it will work out just great for you. you seem to be able to do just about anything. aside from the educational benefits, you’ll certainly have some flexibility. again. too early to think too much on it.
well i see here you just answered all my questions, ha. beautiful flower. love you and your girlies.
@be_the_rain - love you too.
Anything from Pixar is awesome… Roasted at work. In need of A/C…
@Zoz36 - i thought it was just disney at first. and when it looked like the disney parent thing (where they kill off a parent in the first 10 minutes) was going to happen, i was peeved.
guess you weren’t in the freezer today?? happy weekend!!
No, in the heat. With no air movement, it’s about 10-15 degrees hotter in the warehouse. Four more months of this…
The flower makes you catch your breath.
@UncCharlie - and it’s even wilty. lots of new buds for tomorrow i think. i’m all weird these days about the miracle of flowers.
@Zoz36 - think chilly thoughts. today was certainly hot enough.
@promisesunshine - Ain’t no end in sight. Am running on fumes right now. A cool shower beckons and maybe a decent nights sleep.
@Zoz36 - sounds good. sleep well.
It is always good when you are caught in that teachable moment when all the channels are open and the minds and hearts are receptive. Cherish the time…
I would love to do an art camp with my kids =D Ella has already adopted quite a love for anything artistic…The smallest spawn is still a bit young for paint but he enjoys clay and coloring.
There is tremendous satisfaction in group art sessions. It is unknowingly yet essentially a group art therapy session!
@Aloysius_son - i took watercolor lessons when one (or both- can’t remember if i was baking number 2 or if she was out of the oven) of my kids was small. the instructor said that she watched me through the hour or so go from tense to relaxed. how cool to be able to see that. kids- you just see if they are happy creating and it’s pretty obvious. i need a new project. i feel like i’m missing out right now. (although i’m getting a lot of other stuff done. so perhaps i should continue missing out.)
hey. liked your garden poem even though you won’t let us comment.
I am Tremendously glad that you got to spend that time with your girls and actually enjoyed it. That is so important for all of you, it just makes me happy.
We’ve got a whole row of those flowers, but only two are blooming. They’re going pretty good, though. I should go take pics.
@lanney - it’s all in the outlook.
yes, pictures please.