June 24, 2013

  • wholelottamonday

    Well. This day is just terrific.

    LLO had words with me this morning. I’m ruining her life, don’t you know. She’s getting absolutely nothing for her new-found independence.  The fact that I have to work in the morning this week instead of drive her  to and from activities means that everything is about me.  Sure, I’m having a blast working.  Working is about as much fun as you can have on a Monday morning.

    Especially this Monday morning.

    The babies started trickling in 10 minutes early, because parents either bring their kids early to camp or late.  This is a fact well-documented by years of experience. I could do a study.  Time is relative to parents.  And because they were babies (a very, very young group of kids and lots of boys. You know about little boys, right?) lots of moms hung around.  Before start time, I had a younger sibling barf on the floor.  Spectacular.  And a little boy crying to his mom.  And all these moms hanging about.  I understand about moms, I was one.  But, seriously, get out already. Within an hour, I had one mom finally say that she was taking her kid home.  I’m like, ok. Then I notice that I’m short one.  The one crying at the beginning of the day who seemed to come out of his shell and be very happy.  I’m short a kid.  Holy shit. I’ve never lost a kid. Never even come close to losing a kid.  I freaked. Spawn was with me and she didn’t remember seeing him go either.  So I go up to my boss in a panic. It’s what I do. And she looked and she called the mom.  Who had taken him home.  I’m positive she didn’t say a word to me when she left.  Spawn is positive that she didn’t say a word to her when she left.  What the fuck. Would you ever take your kid and not tell someone?  Would you ever take your kid in the first place?  Because kids are notorious for being slow to warm up.  Just let it ride, see what happens.  But no, she took her baby and didn’t say one damn word about it.  And didn’t even apologize for not saying anything.  Instead said that the kids weren’t welcomed.  What? The other mother said the same thing. So maybe it’s true.  I can’t imagine how it’s true. Really, I can’t. But it doesn’t matter if it’s true or not. Because summer camp is about word of mouth.  And you’d better believe those two ladies will be word-of-mouthing

    Managed to make it through the last two hours without losing any more kids.  I think the kids were happy, but what do I know.  I think the remaining moms were happy, but again, what do I know. My boss wasn’t exactly mad, because this has never happened before. I usually get kids who want to join in, not get out.

    Then I went on the search for LLO.  Who was spitting mad.  Because instead of sitting in the shade between swim team and band camp (the plan as I knew it), she walked home and then back while wearing pants and a long sleeved shirt (excuse me 3/4 sleeve shirt) on the hottest day of the year giving her the opportunity to again mention how horrible her life is and how selfish I am for being unable to drive her around like the chauffeur I was always meant to be. It’s all about me, don’t you know.

    Because today was so much fun.

    Now I’m going to go hide somewhere. Preferably with my eyes closed.

Comments (31)

  • I’m in a dungeon…ok basement… I have two loads of laundry needing doing, a de humidifyer to clean/sanitize and i’ve been off now three days in a row because my job is quarantined…believe me I don’t want whatever they’ve got.  this is all my subtle way of saying ;) I too could feel your enwe  - but i’m more likely to smack bottom and get to the almighty walmart for to make?  WINE :D

  • @starmanjones - a trip to walmart or the basement would just make my day complete.  if i was sure the car wasn’t going to break down, i would do the former so i guess instead i’ll do the latter.

  • Wtf indeed. Seems like parents these days are more helicopter-y than they were when I was a kid. Or maybe it’s just that my parents were nothing like helicopters and I might have liked them to be more involved. Hard to say. But some of my coworkers who are mothers do things and help their children way more than my parents did. But anyway yeah it might have been nice if she’d at least, like nodded to you and the door to say she was going. Rude.

  • Parents of young kids are so weird nowadays. 

  • I agree with @Marica0701 -  only I would add that young kids are also weird…I’m doing the kindergarten VBS class this week 

  • @mlbncsga - Ouch, good luck with that!!!!! I had to do that last year and it was a bit frustrating haha. I need to keep telling myself that any and all interaction I have with children is good learning opportunity for when I may someday have kids of my own haha

  • *hug*  It does sounds like a very eventful day… kids get so moody on summer break. Hopefully she’ll be her prety self soon, when the weather cools down a bit…Summer camp sounds fun, we don’t have such things here.  I bet it’s a lot of work, best of lucks.

  • oh mygoodness…that sounds like a day. hope the evening is better. 

  • My Mom would have said:  To me, on Day 1- “Suck it up, child.  This is life, so enjoy your day at camp.”  To LLO- “Oh, you want transportation?  I do believe the good Lord has already covered that one.  Left, right; left, right.”

  • @Marica0701 - I’m sure your kids will not be weirdos though  actually I love working with the most of the littles 

  • @RighteousBruin - i’m afraid i’ve given a suck it up speech once or twice, perhaps phrased “give it a try, you will have fun.” as for LLO we discussed this at length before these plans were put into effect and it’s not my fault she made a new plan. we’ll see what happens tomorrow (and in fact, the next 7 weekdays because there is not one darn thing i can do about it.)@Bloodrootsandscales - well, the afternoon involved sand and sun (and a book), so i feel a little better about the world.@meddwl - summer camp is fun. i had a couple kids last week tell me i was the “best teacher ever”, so i suppose it evens out.@Marica0701 - it’s the parents who are difficult. just to put that out there. kids can be reasoned with.@mlbncsga - we’re in the same little boat then. you have fun too.@leaflesstree - they really are. i had a conversation with two parents last week that their kids wanted to sit together all the time at camp.  wouldn’t it be great if parents instead taught kids to advocate for themselves?  i’m not mean, had the kids asked, i would have fixed it. but this way, it was a big deal. sheesh.

  • You are the most patient soul I know.

  • I can only imagine. I wish all of my favorite Xangans were near so we could have cocktail hour and rejuvenate. And then hit our 12 step meeting.

  • i think i am with our rockin’ christina.  cocktail hour with xangans. i know i am with her. and you, btw. hugs. oxooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  • ew. summer camp. that sucks.

  • @ordinarybutloud - i had a blast last week. just had a bad day. gotta get better from here.@Bels_Kaylar - oxooooooooo

  • This sounds awful. You are brave for “hosting” a camp. I can hardly deal with the screaming kids in the hall. I hope you have a better day tomorrow

  • @Foodhog - crossing fingers and toes.

  • I like to abduct my own children from time to time. It’s so passive-aggressively satisfying.

  • . . . camps….gotta be the hardest money earned anywhere…salt mines 101 is better. 

  • @vexations - i believe you may be right

  • @promisesunshine - does someone have a personal raincloud going spit spit?  are you in the mood to see puddles as never ending pit of fathoms for the breaky the leg?  is the mail just one more bill? *gettim! get the mailman! – good doggy! ferrocious kitty flaming salamander etc.)  what you need is 100% garunteed stress relief!  Darnitol gelcaps for when life is alllll lemons and you need relief.  not available anywhere but you can kiss a jehovah’s witness before you slam the door no thank you to your jesus.  it might make you feel better :D

  • If you come here I will make water melon juice for you and you will be refreshed.

  • Aw. First day of anything is tough…but especially camps or school. Especially on the teachers.WTF on that lady taking her kid and not telling you or anyone???? Wow! Hope Day 2 is better by a billion! Hang in there! HUGS and I have flowers for you!

  • @adamswomanback - day 2 has to be better. and if i ever have another day 1 like yesterday, i’m hanging up my paint shirt.  thanks for the flowers and the hugs.

  • I’m leaving MINIs here there and everywhere! And I wanna’ use some I’ve never gotten to use before!HUGS!!!

  • YAY, it’s the whee-kend! HUGS and hope yours is going swimmingly!  

  • Tis weird how so many people have scattered from Xanga already. Wow, Can you believe it’s July?!HUGS!!!

  • When my grand-daughter was only 3, she stomped her foot and yelled at her mommy  ”You’re ruining my life!”  I thought, “Uh-oh, what’s she going to be like when she’s 13?”  Hope the rest of the camp was better.

  • @ata_grandma - kids say some wild things these days. in the heat of the moment. yikes. camp ended up bearable, at least. @adamswomanback - howdee!! and hugs. scattered like the breeze, man.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *